Creative musings in bright colors

Stash

This is not a nail art post! I know, shocking. In the last 3 weeks, I have swatched all 228 of my nail polishes on swatch sticks, and I finally have them all organized! Today is about my collection.

IMG_8822

As mentioned, I have 228 polishes. You can find a list of them at the top of this blog (under Polish List). I am very impressed at myself! Unfortunately, this little endeavor also clarified where the gaps and …overlaps…are in my polish stash! Unsurprisingly, I have more blues/teals than anything else, but none of them are dupes. My dupes are in the orange range!

IMG_8824

Honestly, my camera did not to the best job here. Sunny Side Up – Wet n’ Wild (far left) is lighter than the others, with Orange – Nail Art just behind it. Thandie – Zoya is slightly pinker than the others. However, Ay Poppy! – Cult Nails and Natasha – Julep are almost identical. Ay Poppy! has a better formula…but both are 2-3 coater bright orange crellies. Go figure! I need a light orange and a dark orange. Any suggestions?

IMG_8829

The bigger surprise was in my NOT dupes. I knew I had two dead-on-dupe reds (Forever Festive by Maybelline and Isla by Zoya) but I also thought I had a set of pink dupes and multi chrome dupes. I do not! The two pinks are in fact slightly different…Pinkini by Clinquie is a hair lighter than Pink Forever by Sinful Colors, which also has more red.

IMG_8830

Also in the list of surprises was Just Spotted the Lizard by OPI and Genius In The Bottle by Catrice. I convinced myself to keep both (I won them in separate giveaways) but I had assumed they were identical. As it turns out, GITB is darker (more bronze/brown) with a green shift, than JSTL which is strongly gold with a blue shift. Cool!

IMG_8831

Nail art resumes Monday, I promise 😀

Comments on: "Stash" (12)

  1. This is awesome. Where did you buy your swatch sticks? I feel like I should do this for my stash…

  2. such a genius idea. I must buy those swatch sticks. thanks for the link 🙂

  3. LaraLeaf said:

    Wow, that is an accomplishment! I though I was doing good to have an inventory list on my computer! It will be nice to be able to see the swatch now immediately for all your polishes! Good idea!

    • thanks! i have had a googledocs based inventory for a few months now, but I was running into trouble with which glitter toppers to put over which creme polishes. so I decided to do this…and I try not to half-ass anything 😀

  4. LaraLeaf said:

    btw, your photographs of this are wonderful. I especially love the first one – where you arranged all of them in a ‘wheel’ with some shown as dividers. I’m sure that took some work to get them so orderly and pretty. Never ceases to amaze me as to how generous with time and effort that nail bloggers like you are. Truly appreciate it.

    • <3! The wheel was the most fun. I probably have 15 photos of it, but there was no sense posting them all! I love nail art, but so few of my local friends care about nails. I enjoy it more when I can share it with the world!

  5. I swatch my polishes on swatch sticks as well and I’m actually caught up for once (usually well behind). I’m still looking for a good way to display them in a way I can actually see them properly, not stuffed into a small container like I have now

    • i’m still doing a shoebox, so i can’t help you there! my eventual plan is to move them from straight arrays onto a ring (like from a 3-ring binder) and hang them from a thumbtack on the wall

  6. Amazing organization 🙂

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

