Creative musings in bright colors

Pink Speckled

Sometimes, really good ideas don’t pan out. Or they were just bad ideas to start with. I don’t know which of those two options resulted in this manicure, but either way I am not happy!

IMG_8932

This started out as a bright pink gradient. Only, I messed that up a bit…so I decided to add glitter. And I couldn’t decide between pink or blue glitter (from the Born Pretty Store) so I did both. Some on one nail, some on another, and alternating lines on a few. Word to the wise: stick to simple when it comes to glitter. Oy. Clean up of my counter took almost an hour. Darn glitter!

IMG_4498

In the end, this is just a giant fail. I should have left the gradient alone, or gone with pink-on-pink for the glitter. But, it is only fair that I share my failures with you guys! So ta-da: fail!

Colors:

  • Light pink: Nabi – Hot Pink
  • Dark pink: Petites Color Fever – Raspberry Ice

IMG_4492

Live and learn.

Comments on: "Pink Speckled" (4)

  1. LaraLeaf said:

    Grrr, I hate when I spend that much time on a mani and end up not happy with it. And, yeah, have to chalk it up to lesson learned (hey, that’s what life is about, right?!).
    I do like your gradient, and the polishes you used. The all-over glitter placement – while I admire the time it takes to do them (not to mention having loose glitter Everywhere for weeks afterwards 🙂 ), most of them leave me ‘meh’ for some reason. That, or my mind shears away from something it knows is beyond it’s skills!

    Anyway, I think you are being too hard on yourself! That first photo especially is cute!

    • thanks! i do try. sometimes i am good with glitter and often i am not. I want to keep trying but it takes so darn long!!!

  2. I really love this, but I totally understand when you have a particular vision and it either doesn’t come out that way or it takes a wrong turn and there’s no going back. However, i think its fantastic!! The glitter placement is beautiful, and the pink gradient underneath turned into a really interested shade of pink!!

    Sometimes nail fails are the most popular, well liked designs!! Definitely think youre being way too hard on yourself. But I hope you got all the glitter cleaned up!

    • aww, thanks! and if by “cleaned up” you mean “30% ended up on the floor or in the trash” then yes 😀

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

