Creative musings in bright colors

I have the distinct honor today of showing you 4 polishes from Philly Loves Lacquer‘s Summer Down the Shore collection! There are two wonderful things about this collection before I even get to the polish… (1) it’s local! It’s actually made in Philly! (2) It is inspired by the beach, specifically the Jersey Shore. I love the beach. In fact, I was AT the beach (…the Jersey Shore in fact) this past weekend, so I took the opportunity to take some live-action shots of these beauties!

IMG_3643

The Down the Shore collection consists of 8 polishes. I have 4 of them for your viewing pleasure! And in case you were curious, these photos are taken from Vetnor, looking over at Atlantic City. All polish is shown over Philly Loves Lacquer’s base coat, with corresponding top coat where noted (review of those two coming when I have had a chance to wear them longer!)

IMG_3638

Wildwoods by the Sea – “Dark sea foam scattered holo”
This is my favorite from the collection. Of course, I am a sucker for teals…and this is just a stunning polish. The scattered holo looks more like beautiful subtle silver shimmer to me, but it did give rainbow glints in direct sunlight. Two coats shown here without top coat. It dries to a semi-matte finish.

IMG_9369

With top coat, the polish is wonderfully shiny! To my eyes, the teal became a bit brighter. Regardless, this polish dries incredibly fast.

IMG_9392

IMG_9397

I should note, this polish is best used quickly. It dries fast, so if you try to work it around your nail slowly, it will clump. I found it went on beautifully with two fast thin coats, but if you like to paint slooooowly, this might be difficult. It was very easy to control, and the polish brush is short and perfectly sized. Seriously, I love the brush that came with this polish! Perfect ratio of flexibility to hardness. When I use up the polish, I am keeping the bottle just to have the brush.

IMG_3637

On The Way To Cape May – “Bright strawberry jelly with red and silver shimmer”
I was surprised by how much I liked this polish. I’m not usually a fan of jellies, and I own too many red polishes already. That being said, this polish managed to be both unique and fun!

IMG_9448

IMG_9465

This polish took 4 coats to cover my nail line. Keep in mind that my nails are very long, and that this is a true jelly. However, I was using very thin coats and the dry time was incredibly fast (as soon as I finished the hand I could go back and paint the next coat). Thus, given the fast dry time, I didn’t actually spend any longer putting down polish than I usually do! The fun part about this (to me) is going to be using it for art. Which I did. And you shall see in early June what wonderful things can be done with a red glitter jelly!

IMG_3636

Love Those Wildwood Days – “Sky blue scattered holo”
Beautiful color. Truly a sky blue, with subtle holo shimmer (mostly looks like silver shimmer). Two easy coats, same application as Wildwoods by the Sea.

IMG_9388

IMG_9408

IMG_9379

Dried quickly, easy to work with. Love. If you don’t already own a sky blue polish with glittery bits, this is a good one to pick!

IMG_3639

Watch The Tram Car Please – “Bright yellow cruelly with mix of matte blue and neon blue glitters”
This polish. What to say. It went on easily, and I did not have to fish for glitters (even the stars came out evenly). I spotted hexes, stars, shards, bar, and just random glittery goodness. I like the combination of neon yellow + teal blue. Unfortunately, I do not like yellow…so this polish just isn’t quite my thing.

IMG_9476

IMG_9472

Shown here is three coats (which you need to cover the nail line). With one coat of top coat, the polish was still slightly bumpy. Not enough to be annoying, but if you are a fan of completely smooth nails, you will need two coats of top coat.

This collection goes on sale in June! So head over to Philly Loves Lacquer if you are interested. To see other blogger swatches (and the four remaining polishes in the collection) check out the PLL Facebook page.

IMG_3630

My advice: get Wildwoods by the Sea, it is BEAUTIFUL. Love Those Wildwood Days is a great polish if you don’t own a sky blue with glitter (especially given the fast dry time), and On The Way To Cape May is just a fantastically fun polish although it does take 4 coats.

*Polishes sent for review, all opinions are my own

Comments on: "Summer Down the Shore – Philly Loves Lacquer" (8)

  1. I love all of it, but I could be biased 🙂

    Also, yay on location shots! When I went to Wildwood last month, it was still kinda blah on the beach.

    • this past weekend was beautiful out! i have a bunch of other shots (mostly water + sand + polish) but of course I couldn’t post them all. And you are allowed to be biased! 😀

  2. I love PhLL! I hadn’t seen this release, so thanks for putting it on my radar. Those are all so bright and cheerful. Yay! 😀

  3. What a cute group of nail polishes! Despite I love glitters, Love Those Wildwood Days conquered me ^-^
    This is the first time I’ve read about this indie brand… it sounds cool!
    have a great sunday
    xoxo

  4. Wildwood Days and Wildwoods by the Sea are so incredibly gorgeous! Really loving both those colours. ♥

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

