Creative musings in bright colors

*Sorry for not posting yesterday, I was on my way back from a wedding and had convinced myself it was a Sunday not a Monday!* I have recently been on an anime binge. My favorite of late is Fullmetal Alchemist, so I (of course) did nails appropriate to the series. I’m going to talk a bit about the art, and then more about the anime. If you have ever seen the anime, keep reading for a chance to win some nail polish 😀

IMG_4657

The anime is about a world where scientists can change one item into another that uses the same components. They draw circles with complicated patterns inside of them, and are able to ‘transmute’ as they like. This skill takes years of learning, and is akin to chemistry. The anime covers the lives of two young boys who tried to transmute their mother back to life, and in failing, lost parts of their own bodies. They want their bodies back, and in the process uncover terrible and wonderful things about their country.

IMG_4655

My nails have 5 symbols on them, all of which should be familiar to people who watch the show (and completely bonkers to anyone else!) From thumb to pinky: the country-wide alkahestry anti-transmutation circle, the oroborous, the flame alchemy symbol, the teacher’s symbol, and Al’s blood seal. If you have only seen the 2003 anime, the one on my thumb will not be familiar…it is from the 2009 version (“Brotherhood”).

IMG_9210

Colors

  • Grey: Maybelline – Bare Escape
  • Red: OPI – All I Want For Christmas (is OPI)
  • Black: Sinful Colors – Black on Black
  • Blue: Sinful Colors – Endless Blue
  • Top Coat: Glisten&Glow – HK Girl

IMG_9205

If you just want to see funky looking symbols, finish here. If you care about the anime (and a giveaway) read on…

————–

I watched the 2003 version of FMA before watching Brotherhood, and I have to say I think I made the right choice! I know the internet is full of arguments about this, but I really feel like the character development in 2003 was better…but the plot was better in Brotherhood. Which is to say, somewhere in there is an ideal matchup of the first 2/3 of 2003 (say, until the Laboratory 5 incident) at which point transfer over to Brotherhood for the rest of the series.

I have actually become so obsessed with this anime that I am reading fan fiction (gasp). I never do that! I think I just haven’t been reading enough, and this provides a quick fix. It’s also just a guilty pleasure 😀

IMG_9539

And now, for the giveaway. Two characters from the anime (Brotherhood, in this case) stood out as my favorites. I have 10 polishes sitting in my giveaway box at the moment…the first person to correctly guess my two favorite characters from FMA wins any two polishes from that list of their choice. I have a huge range of colors (see above photo), and they are mostly from zoya, OPI, KBShimmer, P2, or Revlon. So have at it…who are my two favorite characters? (Hint: one is a girl, one is a guy).

Comments on: "Nerdtastic Tuesday: Fullmetal Alchemist" (13)

  1. Big Edna said:

    I’ve never been so excited about a giveaway in my life! And I think you’re totally right, 2003 had better character development but Brotherhood’s plot was awesome. It’s more closely based on the manga, isn’t it? Anyway!

    How many guesses do we get? I’m just tempte to say Winry and Al but that seems too obvious. Are they main characters or side characters? Eeegads, so many good choices!

    Roy Mustang and Izumi. That’s my guess.

    • hahah! half close, other not so much. i couldn’t STAND Al’s voice in the 2009! it killed me!

      • Big Edna said:

        Did you watch it dubbed or with subtitles? I only ever saw Brotherhood with subtitles and the Japanese voice actor was fine. I mean, for someone who doesn’t speak Japanese.

      • ahhh, i watched dubbed. my boyfriend refuses to watch anything with subtitles….he doesn’t have time to watch what is going on if he is trying to read at the same time!

  2. For once, I have NO IDEA what they’re about, but I love them anyway ; )

    I can’t wait to find out who wins your giveaway!

  3. I loved full metal alchemist when it was on cartoon network !

  4. This is the BEST manicure I have ever seen in my entire life!

  5. mallori mcgregor said:

    Edward Elric and Riza?

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

