Creative musings in bright colors

Underwater Stripes

For some reason, this manicure reminds me of reflected light underwater. Hence the name! This mani was also put together to match a dress…blue/black/silver for a wedding. Of course, whenever I have to mix a lot of colors of similar hue, I beeline for striping tape. Sure, it takes FOREVER, but the payoff is worth it!

IMG_9571

I had quite a few people grabbing at my hands and trying to figure out how I made the lines so straight. Tape almost feels like cheating. Almost.

IMG_4826

IMG_4849

Colors

  • Silver: A England – Excalibur
  • Black shimmer: OPI – Black Satin
  • Dark blue: Wet n’ Wild – Blue Moon
  • Blue: Nicole by OPI – A Lit-Teal Bit of Love
  • Light blue: Nabi – Ocean Blue

IMG_9568

Anyway, I hope you enjoy this mani! Took me a while to put together, and as it turns out working with semi-dried-up polish and trying to make it obey your will is difficult. In tiny lines. But worth it!

Comments on: "Underwater Stripes" (12)

  1. This is gorgeous! Tape is not cheating, it’s keeping your sanity! >:)

  2. Pritttyy!! Have fun at the wedding!

    • haha, already happened, and i did! my nails are usually 1-2 weeks behind what I am actually wearing. The wedding was the last weekend in May!

  3. Wow, this is so beautiful! You did a perfect job!

  4. This is so amazing, LOVE this! Great job, tape is difficult to work with, so kudos to how this turned out!

    • tape might be my favorite type of nail art. It always (ok, almost always) comes out looking awesome! As long as the colors work well together.

  5. It’s awesome, I just don’t have this patience!!

  6. LaraLeaf said:

    Awesome mani! I love how striping tape gives you the opportunity to make neat straight lines. Every time I use it, tho, I end up feeling like a little octopus is trying to wrap itself around my fingers. And groan when I don’t get it up quick enough before drying a bit so you get the nice clean edges. lol, I shouldn’t be so intimidated by it! Because it does give you such a gorgeous design!

    • you really have to go one finger at a time with the tape! I know its tedious as anything, but that is the only way to not mess it all up with drying polish

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

