Creative musings in bright colors

Glitter in the Mist

**I apologize in advance…I am at a scientific retreat this week that requires me to be out the door by 8am and I don’t have time to post in the morning. Thus, I will unfortunately probably be posting when I get back to my hotel in the evenings, close to midnight. Sorry!** I have had this combination (in some form or another) in my head for almost a month. I found a Nails Inc silver glitter on sale for $3 and had to buy it…and somehow managed to mentally pair it with my pale grey-blue polish and decided to go for a gradient. And then add another silver glitter with bigger glitter bits at the last minute.

IMG_9825

This ended up being more complicated than I planned! Maida by Nails Inc is a fantastically dense silver and blue glitter (mostly silver) with lots of little and medium glitter bits. It covers completely in two coats (see my accent nail). It is also currently on my toes 😀

IMG_9791

The gradient was super easy with this dense glitter! I just piled a little bit from the brush on at my tips and stroked upwards. Voila! I added more of a gradient just at the base of my nails with Soldier by Rainbow Honey because the color scheme was just too close not to try it. Soldier has larger glitters with some pewter thrown in. I also did a gradient with Soldier on my accent nail, but it is hard to tell.

IMG_5009

IMG_9825

Colors

  • Blue: Essie – Full Steam Ahead
  • Silver glitter: Nails Inc – Maida
  • Silver and grey glitter: Rainbow Honey – Soldier

IMG_5008

I do not look forward to taking this off (even with glue under my accent nail rather than base coat), but it is sparkly!

Comments on: "Glitter in the Mist" (10)

  1. Hi, Eva,
    If you find the white glue works on your accent nails in terms of peel-off, would it make sense to use the glue on all ten nails whenever you use glitter on them to ensure easy polish removal?
    Tamara

    • I forgot to mention how nice the mani is with a great color polish and such a compatible glitter design!

    • You could, but occasionally the glue rips off my nail tips. So when I can, I do try not to use it. Its mostly because my nails are kinda a mess!

  2. This is gorgeous!!

  3. Loving this. Awesomely sparkly and blue 🙂

  4. LaraLeaf said:

    This mani is so gorgeous! That blue base is so pretty, and the glitters, ahhh, I love it!

  5. Eva, remember we discussed a concoction to strengthen nails and you said your nails now are in very good shape? Well, somewhere I got a recipe with jojoba (base) oil plus liquid Vit. E, and tea tree oil plus pure lavender oil (non-alcoholic), plus glycerin. It has worked really well except maybe I overdid it in concentration but the Vit. E I had been using is in safflower oil that “oils it down” but now I got pure Vit. E oil so I guess I have to find a very good base or carrier oil to keep it from overconcentration because I see my cuticles get shredded if I apply the mixture too often, whatever that means. My nails, though, are really improved. Now, if they got at least one and one-half times as long, it would be fashionable!
    If you find this relevant, I will be glad to supply the proportions.

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

