Creative musings in bright colors

Golden Ruffian

If this isn’t bright, then I don’t know what is! For day 4 of the OMD Challenge, I created some gold and black ruffian nails with flowers. I don’t even like ruffian nails, but for some reason this just seemed right!

IMG_5189

My inspiration came from @kimiko7878. I couldn’t help buying a few of the new mirror-finish polishes from the foil collection by sally hansen. I should have known better though…you need smooth nails for this and mine are a pitted mess! Since this polish is designed to be worn without base coat or top coat, it shows any imperfection in your nails. And mine are, shall we say, highly imperfect?

IMG_0088

IMG_5203

I started with two coats of Liquid Gold by Sally Hansen over my bare nail (except on my thumb where I put down base coat just to see. The gold polish pulled and separated over it, and the finish was more frosty than mirror in the end, but it was honestly better than letting you guys see the impressive destruction of my thumb!). The polish needs to be placed on fast and in thin coats, but it is very opaque. I do not recommend messing with it once it is on the nail! It is also difficult to clean out of cuticles (I don’t know why) but dries very quickly to a really cool shine!

IMG_0075

Despite my less-than-stellar nail situation, the end result is pretty striking. I added the ruffian and flowers by hand with a matte black, Rascal by Mentality. I could have gone with shiny, but since I wasn’t going to top coat the end result, I figured might as well try for contrasting finishes!

IMG_0084

Luckily, I only plan on wearing this mani for about a day. Neither mirror finish polishes nor matte polishes are known for their staying power, especially in the absence of base coat! Enjoy!

Comments on: "Golden Ruffian" (4)

  1. […] Sally Hansen – Liquid Gold (I know this polish shows all your nails flaws, but I just can’t get over how awesome it is. […]

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

