Creative musings in bright colors

Half Scale

I really enjoyed my half-gradient/half-dot nails from a few weeks ago, and decided to do a mermaid-themed set when I saw what the Born Pretty Store had sent me for review! The little scales work perfectly 🙂

IMG_9863

I started with a holo blue gradient (three colors) which I covered with MORE holo glittery goodness! I then added the scale water decal and top coated. When that was dry, I taped off the side of my nail and added black polish and then dots.

IMG_9833

IMG_9847

Although I think this mani looks awesome, I had a spot of trouble with the water decal! It is really pretty, but in order to fit my nail the way I wanted, I had to reposition it a few times. It ended up folding in on itself on my pinky, and I couldn’t get it to straighten back out. I do wish the water decal was full-nail rather than only partial, but it is quite fun and definitely beats trying to hand paint little scales!

IMG_5036

Colors

  • Light blue: Nfu Oh – #65
  • Blue: Darling Diva – Blue Diamond
  • Dark blue: Nabi – Navy Blue
  • Glitter: ORLY – Sparkling Garbage
  • Black: Sinful Colors – Black on Black

IMG_5037

If you want some water decals, I recommend this set from the Born Pretty Store. You can find them for $2.29…and I might add, there are some really pretty arabesque decals there too!

Comments on: "Half Scale" (14)

  1. These look great, that blue is simply stunning!

  2. thebubblybrunette said:

    The gradient is gorgeous!

  3. Love this design, it looks beautiful. All those details 🙂

  4. LaraLeaf said:

    Wow – this mani/design is gorgeous! I love the different positions of the scales on each nail and the black with glitter dots. So creative. And that gradient base, what’s to say – it is stunning!

  5. Awesome…truely

  6. […] I was going to use cremes for the whole thing, but I decided to take a page of out my book from a blue design I did a while back, so I went for holos […]

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

