Creative musings in bright colors

Ikat Fail

I hate ikat designs. I find them messy and more or less an eyesore. When I saw that I would need to do one for this month’s challenge, I shuddered. It was involuntary. And, as one might expect, I failed spectacularly.

IMG_0314

I went searching for some color pallets that I found tolerable, and chose green and gold. I should add the caveat that only my ring finger is free-handed, the other nails are stamps with lighter green painted over them. Sadly, even my stamp doesn’t work! (This I had been dreading…it was this stamp that I REALLY wanted when I got this set, and it just isn’t etched quite deeply enough. I had been putting off using it just so I could convince myself it wasn’t actually bad).

IMG_0316

Colors

  • White: Wet n’ Wild – French White Creme
  • Green: Sinful Colors – Exotic Green
  • Dark green: Sinful Colors – Last Chance
  • Gold: Essie – Penny Talk

IMG_5276

Moral: never again. I will find some way around ever doing ikat again. Ugh.

Comments on: "Ikat Fail" (6)

  1. see how this Ikat drawing is done with the vertical dashes ( – ) done to look like the vertical strings of a weaving. (Ikat is a weaving technique, as you know.)

    http://www.westelm.com/products/pad-printed-bowls-ikat-d523/

  2. That ring finger isn’t half bad – it was the first thing that caught my eye and I knew it was IKAT. : )

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

