Creative musings in bright colors

Glitzy Chevrons

I had high hopes for this mani. I dashed them. And then, somehow, they came back. I wanted to mix three of my seldom-used-but-beautiful glitter polishes, and then stamp over them with the Bundle Monster chevron stamp. Although all three polishes are stunning alone…mixed, maybe not so much.

IMG_5345

I painted each nail either pink (pinky and pointer), purple (ring and thumb) or blue (middle) and proceeded to dab on polish of the other two colors with an almost dry brush. They basically just blended into a purple shimmery mess. I was hoping for distinct colors and I did not get it!

IMG_0444

However, somehow, the stamp actually saved it. It looks like a weirdly subtle mix of really bright glittery colors behind the stamp. :-D. I wanted to matte this, but my matte polish is empty (and the replacement I bought does not actually work). Anyone have any good matte top coat suggestions??

IMG_0434

Colors

  • Pink: Zoya – Allegra
  • Purple: Zoya – Valerie
  • Blue: Julie G – Mermaid’s Tale
  • White: Wet n’ Wild – French White Creme

IMG_5349

Enjoy!

Comments on: "Glitzy Chevrons" (4)

  1. Delphi Michaels said:

    I don’t have a matte topcoat myself, but I’ve noticed on the many blogs I read that Essie’s Matte About You is widely used. butter London’s matte topcoat is also another I see mentioned a lot. At least trying out Essie’s wouldn’t break the bank. Hope that helps. What brand were you using and what brand isn’t working well for you?

    • Mmm essie is a good idea! I had been using Matt-ly In Love by Hard Candy (which was great but I can’t find it again) and tried NYC’s matte top coat (since I use their quick dry top coat regularly). It doesn’t quite matte…more suede.

  2. Oh…just saw one of the polishes you used is Zoya’s Allegra. I almost recently bought that. How do you like it? Thanks!

    • Zoya Allegra is one of my favorite polishes…definitely my favorite pink! Its a deep pink glitter that makes me happy. Goes on well in two coats, doesn’t remove like a glitter. If you like glitter polished with depth, I recommend it!

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

