Creative musings in bright colors

Racing Stripe Flakie

Today’s them in the OMD2 Challenge was “negative space.” This prompt had me worried, since my nails are kinda…um…stained. And pitted. And really there is a reason I always wear manicures! But I found a solution, one that exposes minimal nail surface and I had been dying to try…racing stripes!

IMG_0494

The thought here is that you have two stripes of color up the side, something different in the middle, and a bit of exposed nail between them. I cheated a bit and used a nude shimmer over my naked nail, and then striping tape to delineate the sections. My initial plane was just to use my rainbow flakie, but it wasn’t dense enough after 3 rather substantial brush-overs, so I added my blue/green flakie as well.

IMG_0499

IMG_5355

Although many of the designs I see popping up over the internet matte this particular design, I actually rather like the shiny version better! I did matte it just in case, but still. That being said…my matte coat is dead. It is a dense thick gloppy mess. I bought a new one (it is on my pinky) but it doesn’t mattifying nearly as much as my dearly beloved and departed Matte-ly In Love polish. Does anyone have any matte top coat suggestions? I need a new one!

IMG_5353
Colors

  • Nude shimmer: Revlon – Calla Lilly
  • Red: OPI – Visions of Love
  • Rainbow flakie: piCture pOlish – Festival
  • Blue/green flakie: Zoya – Maisie

IMG_0530

Hope you enjoyed!

Comments on: "Racing Stripe Flakie" (15)

  1. LaraLeaf said:

    I love this design, and your polish selections! I have a couple of manis with this design pinned to one of my boards and love seeing the different polishes used. I like some of them in matte but I do like your colors glossy. I have only one matte coat – the Essie one. It is Very mattifying! I am looking for one that doesn’t flatten the gloss quite that much! Thank you for the wonderful photos!

    • thanks! I can safely say that the NYC top coat does not flatten quite as much and is very cheap (if you have a rite aid near you). I think I might be investing in essie

  2. Nice! And this is totally the challenge prompt where we’re all like, “Oh crap, our nails are garbage…”!

  3. I love this mani, the inocuous striping tap that delineates the colored section from the bright/glossy black space but especially where the glitter shows brightly the reds, blues and greens (holo)!
    Can you use polish thinner to un-goop all polishes or would it change the “matting” formula?
    Did you see the email I sent?

    • i saw the email, thanks! I just…i hate julep. The forumla is crap.
      I don’t know that you can use polish thinner on matte coat, actually. Regardless, I don’t own polish thinner! And I don’t think it would get rid of the crusted blobs of white that keep coming out on my nails when I use the matte coat anyway :-/

      • Thanks for the Julep info. A little too late for me.
        About the matte, aren’t Sally Hansen and Sette vich products good; is there matte better than what you use?

  4. Beautiful! The flakies add the perfect amount of bling.

  5. Omg I love it!!! Your idea is gorgeous, there are negative spaces, dark nail polish and flakies… I’d love to try your design, I’m sure it will be so fun!!! ^-^
    Have a wonderful day
    xoxo

  6. That looks amazing! I think the shiny version looks the best, but both versions are beautiful 🙂

  7. Wilma Shirling said:

    However you achieved this, it came out Amazing! Super Groovy Amazing!

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

