Creative musings in bright colors

An Apple A Nail

…Keeps the doctor away? I don’t even know. Anyway, fruit! I have been wanting to do an apple mani for a while. My inspiration came from this apple nail art at Qtplace …although really it was a pinterest pin so I didn’t know she had a video tutorial!

IMG_0653

I had an interesting battle with myself over the base color here…I wanted a somewhat opaque nudeish white that shimmered. I don’t own one. So I did two coats of a whitish shimmer (Ski Slope Sweetie by OPI) and one coat of a milky white polish (Calla Lilly by Revlon). The Revlon polish dulled the glitter in the OPI, and I actually like how it all came out! The apples were easy :-p

IMG_4123

I don’t really enjoy wearing my nails short (although they are as I type this…darn nail breaks!) but this is a cute look for short nails!

IMG_4125
Colors
– Glitter base: OPI – Ski Slope Sweetie
– Milky base: Revlon – Calla Lilly
– Green: Essie – The More The Merrier
– Yellow: Revlon – Electric
– Brown: Zoya – Louise
– White: Wet n’ Wild – French White Creme
– Dark green: Sinful Colors – Exotic Green

IMG_0656

Enjoy!

Comments on: "An Apple A Nail" (10)

  1. How fun! I really enjoyed this mani. Thank you!

  2. I love it! Actually, I love them, both the design and the polishes you selected for each color! The apple green is great, the yellow so clear as are the leaf green and the brown. The background looks nice, too, but I can’t tell what it reminds me of. I think the absence of red makes it all striking.
    BTW, my sister, Judy, who I previously mentioned as being an md was in Cooper Union for fine art before pre-med and she would do incredibly detailed medical studies for journals. Since you have a good eye for spacial relationship and draw well, “in your spare time” you might consider trying some pen-and-ink drawing. Just a thought for what might give you pleasure, additional pleasure, that is!

  3. This mani is just toooo stinking cute!! I love the green sheen that glows above the apples…what is that from? I looked thru the list of polishes and didn’t see anything that it would be so I’m thinking maybe it’s a reflection from the green polish?? lol. Girl those are sooo no short nails. Nubbins are short…your nails are long and lovely.

    • BTW…I like your mani better than the inspiration you drew from for a few reasons…I like your choice of background polish and her apple seeds look like eyes LOL.

      • eeee! Ok. That might be a first (that someone likes my rendition better than the original) so THANK YOU! And I’m glad you like them apples :-p

    • hehehe! So the green sheen is actually the gold shimmer in the OPI polish (Ski Slope Sweetie). When it hits the light right the gold is almost a light green! And no, these are not nubbins…you’ll see those in a few days. My middle nail broke about 24 hours after these photos 😦

  4. Certainly you make it look easy, but I have a feeling if I attempt this one I will fall on my face. I love yours, though (and thanks- my nails are short right now, post-breakage, as well, so this gives me a cute-while-short mani to do this weekend).

    • its really not hard! the green was all done using the polish brush itself, as was the yellow. You only need something to make thin lines for the stem, seeds, and white highlights. Go for it!

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

