Creative musings in bright colors

Wisteria and Roses

Sometimes, I see something so elegant that I need to duplicate it. As best I can. And make it shareable by the world. For today’s “roses” challenge, I give you Wisteria and Roses, complete with a tutorial at the end. It’s been a while since my last tutorial!

IMG_5366

This nail art was inspired (read: duplicated) from this beautiful bit of art by @lieve91. She has a number of these designs in other colors…I might be following her lead and doing an all-purple or all-pink one shortly (which is to say when my nails grow back out).

IMG_5364

IMG_0575

Although my version doesn’t take over quite as much of my nail, I still love it! It needs a bit of work, but I figured it was worth sharing anyway.

IMG_0570

Colors
– White: Wet n’ Wild – French White Creme
– Purple: Zoya – Malia
– Blue: Sinful Colors – Endless Blue
– Light blue: Zoya – Rocky
– Green: Sinful Colors – Last Chance

IMG_0577

If you are interested in the tutorial, keep reading! If not, happy roses day! 🙂

Tutorial:
(1) Paint your nails white
(2) Starting at your cuticles, paint thin lines in dark green polish
(3) Using a small nail art brush or a dotting tool (I went with a brush), add purple leaves along your green stems. On nails with more stems (which will not have roses) only add purple leaves to half of the stems
(4) Add blue leaves to the other half of the stems, and asymmetric blue circles using a dotting tool to the middle fingers. These will become blue roses
(5) Add white to the center of the blue roses, swirling it around to create petals. Also add very faint white centers to the purple and blue leaves
(6) Add light blue to the roses, creating more depth. Also add dots using a small dotting tool to the end of the blue and purple plants
(7) Add small, thin leaves to the roses
(8) Add white highlights down the center of the leaves. Clean around your cuticles with acetone
(9) Top coat your design (I recommend something that you know will not smear!) Voila!

Wisteria and Roses tutorial

Comments on: "Wisteria and Roses" (15)

  1. I love, love, love your version of them!! Very classy and great nail art skills!!!

  2. Both are super! You’ve done a really good job, I worry about taking ‘inspirtation’ from people in case I don’t do them justice. Really beautiful, I’d definitely like to see another colour variation!

  3. Ooh, pretty! So dainty. That’s what I was hoping my lavender back on day-whatever was going to look like, but…it really didn’t!

  4. Yeah, Eva!!! Great design and fabulous execution! See, I told you medical fine-line drawing is in your future, maybe with polish as “pigment!”
    I love blue and purple together and love wisteria and with a back coat of white, what could be more attractive?

    Enjoy!

  5. thebubblybrunette said:

    This is a stunning design!

  6. I love these, they look absolutely amazing! xxx

  7. […] pinky nail should have clued me in, but it was the ring! She wanted a more simple design of these nails I did a while ago (of note…I REALLY need a better tag than “floral” or […]

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

