Creative musings in bright colors

My PhD Thesis

Back in June I went to a one week long conference centered on neuroscience. I decided to paint my nails accordingly! On my left hand, I went with a somewhat symbolic representation of my thesis work (and next week you will see my corresponding right hand)!

photo 3

In case any of you are curious, I study the regulation of motor proteins in the axons of neurons. From pinky to thumb we have:
Pinky: Gel blot (it was supposed to be a protein blot – a western)
Ring: Kinesin (in purple) – anterograde motor protein
Middle: Dynein (in blue) – retrograde motor protein
Pointer: Neuron (specifically a DRG – dorsal root ganglia sensory neuron) since they have multiple neurite/axons rather than just one
Thumb: PhD!

photo 1

IMG_9976

I am not going to list all of the colors because there are too many. Black, grey, 2 greens, 4 purples, 5 blues…and maybe some others just for fun!

IMG_9968

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed these science-themed nails!

Comments on: "My PhD Thesis" (6)

  1. “A picture is worth a thousand words!” Just think how much more a non-scientist could understand from these pictures compared to just the words of description! Good job and nice work, I think! TX much.

  2. I looooooove these science nails 😀 Especially the pointer and pinky, neuroscience ❤

  3. Lindsay (Nail That Accent) said:

    So pretty

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

