Creative musings in bright colors

Neuron

Since I am still not quite as good with my non-dominant hand, I went with something more simple (yet still neurosciency) on my other hand for the conference! I present: a neuron! Unlike the one on the pointer of my other hand (see Friday’s post), this is a neuron from the central rather than peripheral nervous system. I didn’t really have a specific neuronal type in mind, but I would guess hippocampal if I had to.

IMG_0006

Real neurons can be very very long, and the cell body to axon ratio is insane. Of course, I had to make them fit across my nails. So the ratio is not real. It’s a cartoon! But of course, I had to myelinate it :-p

IMG_5105

photo 5

Colors:
– Black: Zoya – Storm
– Green: Essie – The More The Merrier (here, the cell cytoplasm)
– Blue: Sinful Colors – Endless Blue (here, the cell nucleus)
– Grey: NYC – Sidewalkers (here, the myelin sheath)

IMG_0002

Most of the things here are actually somewhat real-colored, in terms of staining. DAPI is a common reagent used to stain the cell nucleus and it is blue. Many of my cells are green due to a GFP tag on a cytoplasmic protein. Mylein is generally shown in grey (don’t ask me why exactly). Enjoy!

***Other news: I am (yet again) entered in a nail art contest over at Nail Polish Canada. I would be very much obliged if you clicked this link, scrolled to the bottom, and voted for ‘flightofwhimsy’. Thank you! 🙂 ***

Comments on: "Neuron" (10)

  1. Hey Eva! Can I borrow that grey polish? I have Transverse Myelitis. Maybe if I just “paint” the myelin back on my spine? LOL

    • oh no! haha…well, unfortunately, I don’t think that will work out so well! Polish isn’t the best neuro-insulator. 😦

  2. Voted for you XX

  3. Lovely, and I really like the contrast between the background and that neuron, pretty : ))

  4. I really like to see these “nail-pictures!” Now I have another topic to “google” to have any idea what I am seeing.
    Great job!

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

