Creative musings in bright colors

Orange Daisy

This mani was almost a wonderful success…until it wasn’t. The plan was to make a diagonal gradient from white to orange, and then turn it into a daisy-like flower. All went well, until I put the center of the daisy on the wrong diagonal!

IMG_5451

My thumb came out how I intended (the black center is opposite the darkest part of the orange) but on ALL my other fingers I did it wrong. I noticed two nails in and had to decide if I wanted to switch it, but I figured it would look even goofier if two nails were right and two nails were wrong. Anyway. Maybe I’ll try this again with the proper placement of the center of the flower.

IMG_0838

Colors
– White: Wet n’ Wild – French White Creme
– Light orange: Maybelline – Bleached in Peach
– Orange: Zoya – Thandie
– Black: Sinful Colors – Black on Black

IMG_0834

I should probably do some more floral nail art. It is the summer after all! Even if it was (gloriously) in the 60’s rather than 90’s this past weekend!

IMG_5447

Enjoy!

***Other news: I am (yet again) entered in a nail art contest over at Nail Polish Canada. I would be very much obliged if you clicked this link, scrolled to the bottom, and voted for ‘flightofwhimsy’ if you haven’t already! Thank you! 🙂 ***

Comments on: "Orange Daisy" (12)

  1. Looks like butterfly wings!

  2. Hi, Eva, When I finish what I would like to suggest, just tell me to do the same thing first BUT, I see a pattern which is good academically but bad for the rest of life: look at the overall picture in front of you and THEN find the minuscule aspects that could make it even better.
    This is a gorgeous set of nails, great colors and pattern and great execution!!
    Now tell me to do the same 🙂
    Have a great day!
    T.

    • haha do the same! I tend to focus on minutia before looking at the big picture, it’s just my way!

      • Actually, at first I thought you were painting butterfly wings and my reaction was that they look beautiful, so clear yet detailed. But then when you felt they weren’t good enough, it hit me that you just don’t see clearly what you have done. I, too, lose focus often while others react as I react to your assessment so maybe it requires stepping back and getting a different perspective. Self-dissatisfaction takes its toll mentally and emotionally, I think.
        Now, if only I could take my ideas to heart and relax; how?

  3. Voted! I love that summer mani! I am also very over crittcle of my work. I can’t tell you how many times I have taken of polish and redone the whole thing like 3x! I’m just now trying to learn that perfect is not always better…sometimes you have to just give in to the polish goddess!

    • yikes! I won’t ever repeat more than once…if it goes wrong twice i call it a fail and move on. sometimes they end up on the blog, sometimes I just scrap it and start with something completely different!

  4. I spent a good while staring at them and trying to figure out what you mean by ‘wrong’… I see it, but they’re still pretty 🙂

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

