Creative musings in bright colors

Blue Studded

Zoya had a 3-for-$12 thing going on over July 4th. So of course, I went ahead and got three new Zoya polishes. It was actually hard to pick them…I adore my Zoya cremes, but I never WANT to buy creme polish. Two of out the three were easy….Ivanka and Crystal had been sitting in my “wanted” list for months. The third was harder, and you shall see her later this week! Up first was my longest remaining Zoya lemming: Crystal.

IMG_1180

Crystal is one intriguing polish. Very dense tiny glitter shards, primarily in an icy blue with yellow gold flecks thrown in. It looks a bit like chain mail! It is a foil finish polish, much like my beloved Zoya Ziv. This polish only took one coat of top coat to be smooth, and removed rather easily (I was expecting it to remove like glitter and it wasn’t nearly that bad. I did get sparkles everywhere though). The other cool thing about this polish is that from afar, it just looks like a pale reflective blue, you only see how intricate it is from close up! I felt like it was a secret 🙂

IMG_1144

IMG_5568

I wanted to make this a full-Zoya mani, so the other color I added (free-hand, my straight-line skills are improving!) was Zoya Rocky. To be fair, the studs are actually dark purple neon, painted over with with Gold from the new Sally Hansen Mirror Metallics collection. But I’m ignoring that, since they could easily be gold studs…if I had those. Hand-painting studs is such a chore!!

IMG_1182

IMG_5558

The design is from badgirlnails, although hers are creme and matted. Again, this would have been fun to matte…if I had a matte top coat! My Rite Aid doesn’t sell essie top coats 😦 I might need to settle for Sally Hansen.

IMG_1172

Anyway. Enjoy! Up next…Zoya Ivanka!

Comments on: "Blue Studded" (5)

  1. Cool mani! 😀 Reminds me of Princess Jasmine 😉

  2. I have the Sally Hansen Big Matte Top Coat and it works great. I don’t have the Essie to compare, but it’s just as good as my Orly. You have to make sure and roll (or shake) it really good if it hasn’t been used for awhile, but it does the job! I also use it as a base coat under any metallics or holos.

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

