Creative musings in bright colors

Kenyon College

**Special Sunday post for my sister!** My baby sister is an RA (or whatever Kenyon’s version of an RA is…CA? I don’t know). The week before heading back to senior year college she asked me to do “Kenyon-themed” nails, and sent me a two-page email that was sub-headed “if you want a challenge.” I am always up for a challenge. I did NOT expect this!

IMG_4265

We ended up settling on a sunset gradient on each nail, with Kenyon-themed additions. One hand got the letters spelled out. My favorite part of this adventure was her missing the “Y” and trying to get me to put K-E-N-O-N, one on each nail. It isn’t even my school, and I pointed out her mistake before she got carried away. So her thumb says “ON” 😀 (of course, this was done in purple and white, her school colors).

IMG_5672

IMG_5674

The other hand was…challenging. She wasn’t joking. She even picked out colors for each part of each nails (I kid you not, here is an excerpt from her email: “pinky – a version of middle path, like a loop in sandy brown (butterLONDON – Brown Sugar?) with green grass (sinful colors – exotic green)”). At least I knew which colors she wanted!

IMG_4262

And now to an explanation of what is on each nail:
– Thumb: “Old Kenyon” from what I understand this is a dorm on campus? It was modeled after this building and I have to say I did a decent job.
– Pointer: Adirondack chair. She wanted one in brown, but I went with purple. The chair is a bit disproportioned but maybe recognizable? I also have no idea why she wanted a chair.
– Middle: A brown tree. That was easy 🙂 (apparently there are a lot of trees on campus. I thought she would want corn fields…Kenyon is surrounded by them! I guess that’s what you find in the midwest?)
– Ring: A red bridge. Again, no idea why. But I am darn proud of this finger!
– Pinky: “Middle path,” a winding path somewhere on campus. She wanted it glittery.

IMG_4249

IMG_4261

This probably took three hours all said. I hope her freshmen liked it! She also asked that I post this now, as school is starting up. So any Kenyon students who were directed here by my sister, enjoy! And tell her to cut her pinky nail. It’s freakishly long. Seriously.

Comments on: "Kenyon College" (2)

  1. This is amazing ! I am shocked there are not more comments about it. !

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

