Creative musings in bright colors

Stormtroopers – 31DC2014

Today’s theme in the 31 Day Challenge is “black and white.” Typically, I would do a skittle mani for this, but I decided it had been a while since I went full-on nerd, so I decided to do stormtroopers (from Star Wars) instead!

IMG_5809

Unfortunately, my black polish was well past the point of cooperating. Thin little strings of polish and the overall goopyness (new word!) of my poor 90% empty polish bottle made perfecting this bit of art impossible. My white polish was also a bit dry and sad, and even so was not good at covering the black swiggles.

IMG_5810

I will say that I have since replaced both my black and white polishes with new bottles, so future art will be unmutilated!

IMG_1684

Anyway, I hope you were able to at least enjoy a bit of this nerdy art, and go check out some of the other bits of black-and-white goodness!

Comments on: "Stormtroopers – 31DC2014" (4)

  1. How about going for it and picking up a bottle of polish thinner at a drug store? I have had a 4 oz. bottle of SuperNail Polish thinner by American Int’l. Industries which I bought at a beauty supply store at least two years ago for about $4. and just a few drops added to a bottle of nail polish does the job. In fact, you probably would do better using a couple of drops at a time since you don’t want to overdo the thinning.
    The thinner is made from Mineral Spirits, MEK (melitlcetona), isopropyl alcohol and acetone.
    I would not stick my nose in it but you could put some in a little bottle that previously had some liquid drops inside such as eye drops and then just take off the cover and drop in a bit when required to thin polish so you wouldn’t be exposed much if at all.

  2. This is made of win. Despite any and all uncooperative polishes, this still turned out smashingly. ^^

  3. Two of them look like they’re crying – I’ll take crying Stormtroopers over happy ones everyday!

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

