Creative musings in bright colors

Peacock Gradient – 31DC2014

Bundle Monster has this peacock feather stamp. I own it. And it will not stamp (it isn’t engraved deep enough). I am too lazy to email them and request a replacement (although I really should, I keep meaning to test ALL THE STAMPS and then email them for the ones that don’t work. I know of at least two plates of mine that just won’t stamp) ANYWAY. I wanted to use it and I can’t. So I made my own version.

IMG_5727

The stamp I did use was another bundle monster, just a criss-cross pattern from plate 209. I then added a gold and then a dot of turquoise and then a blue dot at the apex of each crossed bit. It took an hour. Too many dots. And it STILL doesn’t look as good as the initial stamp! But I wanted it. So I did it. The end.

IMG_1516

The base is a three-color gradient (teal-blue-purple), which was kinda fun to put together. Holo gradients are always fun!

IMG_1510

Colors
~ Teal: A England – St. George
~ Blue: A England – Tristam
~ Purple: Gothic Gala – Vallis Sanguine
~ Gold: Essie – Penny Talk
~ Turquoise: Petites Color Fever – Figi

IMG_5728

Enjoy the peacocky goodness! Tomorrows post is a bit more subdued 🙂

Comments on: "Peacock Gradient – 31DC2014" (11)

  1. I keep meaning to do the same thing. So many of my CYO2013 plates don’t work 😦

    • i know! one day i will stamp them all and send like 1/4 of them back for replacements. I just hate that its (possibly) my favorite design, and it fails.

  2. Wow very time consuming but very pretty.

  3. You made it work with what you had and I like the outcome a lot!

  4. It looks great – I just love that base gradient!
    I have the same issue with some Pueen plates – very few actually stamp well, but I haven’t taken the time to test them all or contact them.

  5. First of all: your nails look great. No matter what the stamping was suppossed to be like. I’m already thinking “do I have a similiar pattern I could do something like this with?”
    Secondly: aren’t the essie Metallics great for stamping? For me a good stamping design always relies a lot on the nail polish used and those polishes like Penny talk work exceptionally well for me
    Thirdly: as for stamping plates that work well: I am using Moyou plates and even though I’m not the best stamping person in the world, I think those work pretty well.

    • 1) thank you 😀
      2) yes. Penny talks (and similar metallics made by maybelline) work wonderfully. Which is why, when the stamp doesnt transfer using one of my ideal stamping polishes, I KNOW it isn’t my fault
      3) If I lived in London and shipping was free, I would be swimming in MoYou plates! But I dont and so they are expensive 😦

      • Ah yes, the shipping… I forgot that the plates have to cross a little bit more water to get to you then to get to me. Shipping to Germany was surprisingly cheap which is why I own some plates. They are definitively worth it.

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

