Creative musings in bright colors

Engagement Inspired

So, this is a special post. Yes, it is going under “delicate” day for the 31 Day Challenge, but it also stands alone. On September 6th, my boyfriend of just under 4 years proposed to me. This nail art is inspired by my engagement ring 😀

IMG_2017

Nail art first, read to the bottom if you want the proposal story! I don’t like diamonds (seriously, all that fuss and money for a clear stone?) and I do like colors, so he got me sapphires! Thus, this mani is blue and silver (palladium isn’t a nail polish color).

IMG_2010

IMG_2003

Simple, but delicate…silver swirls on blue, with some hidden dark blue glequins along the side of my nails! Can you see them?

IMG_5959

Colors:
~Dark blue: Maybelline – Midnight Swim
~Silver: A England – Excalibur
~Stamp: Bundle Monster – 314

IMG_5920

I got a lot of comments at the surprise engagement party about how I needed to make matching nails, so this was my response!

—-The Engagement —-

So, my boyfriend has been aware of my reluctance to be engaged, and was equally aware that I had no plans of ever being with someone other than him. He decided stage a rather elaborate proposal, involving 40ish of our closest friends, fancy dinner, lanterns, candles, and lots of tasty food!

pic1

He and I always get dressed up for dates (even if we aren’t going someplace nice…it’s just a thing we do for fun) and we had plans to go to Morimoto (fancy Japanese place) and try the tasting menu since we always order normal food when we go there. So we get all dolled up and head out to the restaurant. After dinner, we take a taxi back and he suggests walking around the park to work off some of the calories. He made a point to tell me to wear comfortable shoes while I was getting ready, so I agreed (we do this occasionally).

pic2

Oddly, he gave the taxi driver directions to the park three blocks from our apartment, rather than the one we usually go to (which is Rittenhouse park, 5 blocks away). When we get there, I see a circle of people holding lanterns and candles standing in the grass. It is around 9:30 at this point and dark out…and I only see the faces of the two closest people, neither of whom I recognize (they were my boyfriend’s lab members). The conversation went something like this:

Me: Woah, it looks like there is some type of church youth group thing going on in the park! Look at all those people with lanterns in a circle! How odd. (one of my friends was wearing a white robe…turns out it was a Leia costume from star wars, but I couldn’t tell from far away. She looked like a nun.)
Jerome: Let’s go join them!
Me: Are you kidding? That’s weird! No, let’s just walk.
Jerome: I think I see some of the kids from my lab. Come on!
Me: Nope. You can go join them if you want, I’m going to stay here!
Jerome: Come join me!
Me: Nah. I’m wearing shoes with pointy heels, I’ll sink into the wet grass!
Jerome: Oh! I didn’t think of that. Um…you can take my hand if you want

pic3

At which point I took his hand (which was shaking…I should have gotten a clue!) and we walked to the circle of people with lanterns. The circle opens up, and I assume we will stand in the circle. But no, we keep walking…to the center of the circle. At this point, despite the dark, I can see people’s faces. I recognize two people (one friend from high school and one from college) who should NOT BE IN THE SAME PLACE AT THE SAME TIME and it hits me that he was about to propose. I had roughly 30 seconds before I knew I needed to turn around and respond (during which time I was muttering out loud “What the f***. What the f***. What the h*** is going on?! No way. No way.” I was also trying to determine what an appropriate response was (I couldn’t say “yes sweetie” or anything cute like that because we don’t do cute nicknames…and calling him “hippo” in front of everyone seems odd), and how to handle the fact that I was at the time wearing a ring on my ring finger, that I was afraid of losing if I removed it. I decided I had to take the ring box (with the ring in it) and put it on once we got back to the apartment where I could both see the ring (it was too dark out to see it) and not lose the one I was wearing.

pic4

Jerome: Eva, you have made the last four years the happiest of my life, and I want you to come explore the future with me. Will you marry me?
Me: Yes, you idiot!

pic5

Then lots and lots of hugs from people in this giant circle of friends…and it starts to rain! So we head to our apartment. It has been (magically) set up with flowers and electric candles and food and cake, and we have an impromptu engagement party!

pic6

It was overall a rather wonderful experience, even if I was in no way prepared to be engaged just yet! Friend flew in from Boston, Ohio, DC, California…even some of our med school friends in residency who were on call that weekend managed to get out and be there!

pic7

Anyway, that is the story. The actual plan (according to boyfriend) was to have everyone light a paper lantern (a-la-Tangled) and float them into the sky when we got out of the taxi. Unfortunately, it was far too windy near the river where he proposed for the candles to stay lit! (He had apparently tried a dry-run at a park on campus and it worked fine there) so he settled for the lanterns instead.

pic8

Fin!

**Bonus** one of my best friends snapped a picture of my face the first time the boy called me “fiancé.” Enjoy.

pic9

Comments on: "Engagement Inspired" (34)

  1. Congratulations your ring is stunning and your fiance obviously really loves you. Well done.

  2. Lovely nails! And what a romantic story! Congratulations on your engagement. =)

  3. Congratulations!
    Gorgeous ring, and a lovely story 🙂 my boyfriend of 5 years proposed at the end of July, too! It’s so exciting, right?!

    … oh yeah, and nice mani too 😉

    • hahaha ❤
      but you never did a matching mani (unless i missed it?)

      and yah, somewhere between exciting and frightening. I don't want to grow up! but congrats to you too hun!!!

  4. Congratulations!! What a truly wonderful proposal! He’s definitely a keeper 🙂 The ring is gorgeous and I love the mani too! Xx

  5. Congratulations!! What a sweet proposal story!! Thank you for sharing it with us! ♥

  6. So romantic… congratulations!

  7. Very, very best wishes to you both at this time of so many beginnings! I wish you times of health, love, peace and wonderful surprises that fulfill all your dreams now and still ahead!

  8. Congratulations on finally caving! 😉 What a lovely story. I hope you remembered to go around to various vendors you frequent and scream, “I GOT ENGAGED TODAY!” in their faces so they’ll give you free stuff. I ate and drank like a queen the day I got engaged!

  9. Congrats girl! What a lovely story and a gorgeous ring. He’s definitely a keeper. And of course your matching mani is gorgeous too.

  10. D’awwwww! So sweet, congratulations on your engagement! I hope you have a wonderful future together!

  11. He really put a lot of time and energy into planning all that! great engagement story!
    I’m so happy for you ! xox

  12. That. was. wonderful. 🙂 It was told well. Clearly each of you have done well. The mani was beautiful as well. And now I have to go dry my eyes which are well…ed up with tears. Congratulations to you both.

  13. What a fantastic story! Thank you so much for sharing it with us. 😀

    Also, the manicure is lovely. I’m sure it’s not nearly as lovely as the experience but it was very lovely.

  14. Love the mani, love the ring, love the story…I was having a bad night and your story made me smile…I can’t believe the work he put into that, what a really great guy you have! Anyway, thanks for making my night a little brighter and reminding me that there is a whole bunch of true love in the world….and of course, congrats!!!

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

