Creative musings in bright colors

Mutagenized – 31DC2014

I got new ILNP ultra chromes! I just couldn’t resist. I had a 25% off code and I swear I’m obsessed with color changing polishes. I took 100+ photos (luckily you don’t have to see them all) because WHEE COLOR. The idea for the art came from SharingVu. Unfortunately, I had not yet bought a new white polish when I made these, and it is hard to get thin tiny flowers with a drying up polish 😦

IMG_1765

Mutagen by ILNP is awesome, if unconventional. I had thought when I bought this polish that it was going to be green-blue-purple or something like that. It is, in fact pink/grey-green-blue. The primary color in direct lighting is actually a grayish pink shimmer! This was not what I wanted (I love green) but honestly it looked pretty cool.

IMG_1701

IMG_5848

The swatches show three thin coats. Absolutely 0 trouble with application, no brush strokes. But if you (like me) have unfortunate bubbles with your base coat, they will show through!

IMG_1747

IMG_1763

As always with multichromes, I really did not want to cover up the polish! I settled on something that let a color of the color through, but still picked up on the fun color-shifty aspects. I am overall quite pleased with this polish (my design maybe less so), even if the color change is less than with Birefringence.

IMG_1761

Colors
~ Green: ILNP – Mutagen
~ White: Wet n’ WIld – French White Creme
~ Purple: Sinful Colors – Dream On

IMG_5841

I have to say, the half-moon manis are growing on me! I do actually kinda like it, as long as it is suitably jazzed up. I can’t wait to see what everyone else did for the 31DC!

Comments on: "Mutagenized – 31DC2014" (5)

  1. I really like this mani! Where do you find ILNP? Also, it’s amazing how the white pops. And I like your dotting designs plus, the green is gorgeous. (“All” my greens are either pastels or some other tone of green but not a clear one.
    Didn’t you just have a birthday? What a great year this will be to remember forever! I hope the forthcoming ones are also super!

    • Thanks! And you can order ILNP online (as far as I know, that is the only place to get it). I think they ship international?

      • FYI, Duane-Reade/Walgreens has WnW at 40% off this week so the French White costs around 69 cents for the bottle…. Not too pricey, hmmmm? Also, the regularly 99 cents WnW “pearlized” colors are the same price and they would be good for stamping, right, so that is good value, yes?

  2. Wooooo what a cool color. That is what you can def call unusual. Looks great on your nails.

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

