Creative musings in bright colors

This mani was painted because I wanted to see what would happen if I combined all three of my ILNP multi chromes and then added silver holographic lines. Basically, SO MUCH COLOR. Even though there are only 4 nail polishes visible and one of those is silver.

IMG_1975

The interesting insight into this (I had no real plan) was my boyfriend (oh god, do I have to call him fiancé? frightening!), who immediately told me that it looked like “the stained glass in Abhorsen’s house” from the Sabriel/Lirael/Abhorsen trilogy. He is totally right. Complete with quasi-magical color shifting!

IMG_1973

IMG_5960

Depending on how I look at my nails, I am getting an entire rainbow from three colors. It’s awesome. Mutagen is doing a pink-green-blue thing, Birefringence is doing teal-blue-purple, and Masquerade is doing magenta-orange-gold-green. It’s killing me. And the holo in Harp On It (Color Club) is just icing on the rainbow cake! I should mention that these are all brushed on free-hand over black creme, except obviously Harp On It. That was freehanded with a striping brush.

IMG_1966

IMG_5918

For all that this mani took less than 20 minutes, it looks EPIC. Seriously. Colors! I need to try a real gradient with these three colors, somehow.

IMG_5905

IMG_1993

Gah. Ok. I’ll try to contain my photo-taking-madness. Magic nails! I know these aren’t actually book-based, but I didn’t have anything else and once Abhorsen was mentioned I just had to use them!

Comments on: "Abhorsen’s Magic – 31DC2014" (4)

  1. Hi…just a comment that has nothing to do with your mani (although, yes, very colorful, wow!), but to do with that new ring you’re sporting. 🙂 I don’t know why but I’ve thought a couple times about that picture that was awesomely taken the first time you were referred to as his fiancé. I just wanted to say you MUST keep track of that picture and even have it framed because what it captures is the sort of emotional moment that your kids and grand kids are going to LOVE seeing. Okay, I’ve got that off my chest now. 🙂 Have a great day!

    • hahahahaha! Duly noted! It was, unfortunately, taken on a phone, and thus is not particularly high quality. That being said, I love it! The faces…yah. Thanks for the advice!

  2. AHHH! I could DIE of the crazy fantastic awesomeness that is this. I bet in person it knocks peoples’ socks off from 100 feet away. Seriously, did you try walking into a crowded supermarket and watching to see if people suddenly fell over from the aforementioned spontaneous sock purging? Try it. Tell us how it goes.

    Oh, and I loved those books. So there is nothing but awesome here. 😀

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

