Creative musings in bright colors

I have always disliked “flag” day in the 31 day challenge…I try to come up with something inspiring and I usually fail. This time, I think I did NOT fail. At least, if you are a nerd 😀

IMG_2287

I have on my nails the flags of Middle Earth from Lord of the Rings! Unfortunately, a lot of the real flags do not get described in the books (or portrayed in the movie) but I made do with what the internet told me. Ideally, I wanted at least one Elven flag, but those really don’t seem to exist!

IMG_6082

The flags:
-Pinky: The feather quill of the Shire
-Ring: The white hand of Saruman
-Middle: The white tree, crown, and 7 stars of Gondor
-Pinter: The white horse rampant of Rohan
-Thumb: The golden arrow of Dale (little known kingdom of men, killed by the dragon Smaug)

IMG_6078

This was a lot of fun to make and actually remarkably fast! The detail work only took about 30 minutes.

Colors
~ Black: Sinful Colors – Black on Black
~ White: Sinful Colors – Snow me White
~ Green: Sinful Colors – Exotic Green
~ Blue: Maybelline – Midnight Swim
~ Gold: Essie – Penny Talk

IMG_2290

Enjoy! I should also probably warn you readers…this was the last post that I had done ahead of time. I am now flying by the seat of my pants as to what I get done and edited in time! So let’s hope I can keep up!

Comments on: "The Flags of Middle Earth – 31DC2014" (7)

  1. Your designs on your nails are fabulous! Love them – I’ve been a die-hard Ring lover for over 40 years. It would be so awesome to have these at one of the conventions! Your choice of polishes is so on-point! Thank you for the beautiful photos.

  2. Of course I would love this.

    They’re beyond cool, and my fav is Saruman’s sign ❤

    Not many elf flags, hm….
    How about that banner Arwen is holding at the endish of Return of the King? Was there something on it? Don't remember, but it was beautiful.

  3. Oh, a tree. It’s a beautiful banner with a tree : )

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

