Creative musings in bright colors

Toothless – 31DC2014

During the “inspired by a movie day” I discovered the nail art that I just had to try myself: More Nail Polish’s Toothless mani from the movie How To Train Your Dragon. I cheated a little, using a black slightly textured base, but I love how this came out and the inspiration is awesome!

IMG_2383

Her inspiration came from this particular picture of toothless. I tried to mimic the same one:

This mani was much easier than I though it would be, thanks mostly to a polish I was recently sent to review! Well, more to nail art with. The lovely Hillary at Mentality sent me the Textured Earth Tones collection, so I have many textured matte polishes to play with! I will open this by saying that over the course of the next two or so weeks you guys will be seeing a LOT of matte manicures! Although Mentality states that these are “textured,” I think they have more of a crushed satin texture than the gritty texture we are used to with Zoya and OPI and the like. I will be doing a comparison post between creme/matte/textured/these guys shortly so you can see what I mean. ANYWAY. The base of Toothless is the slightly textured black matte polish Asphalt.

IMG_2379

I will be doing a full review post of all 12 of these polishes once I am doing testing them all. For now, I will just say that Asphalt is definitely a black matte polish with subtle but cool-looking texture. This is two thin coats. One warning with these polishes: you get three passes with the brush (center, right, left) before it starts pulling on the previous polish. So go fast and you will have no problems at all, but don’t try to overwork them!

IMG_6104

The rest of the design was painted on with various green polishes, blue, and some gold and white. The scales were done with blobs of top coat over Asphalt.

IMG_2403

I love how this mani came out! And I love the inspiration (from both the movie and More Nail Polish). I hope you enjoyed!

IMG_6106

I am glad to be done with the 31 Day Challenge….two full challenges within 3 months is probably more than I can handle. I am very much looking forward to NOT posting on weekends, and getting to play with my new pretties! May the dragon be with you!

Comments on: "Toothless – 31DC2014" (9)

  1. i can’t wait to see the rest of those textureds from mentality 🙂

  2. Oh Wow – you did such an amazing job, Toothless looks gorgeous (and I just want to cuddle him!) Thank you for choosing one my my manis for this prompt.

  3. It came out beautifully! I love the little nostrils : )
    Toothless is amazing. Haven’t seen part 2 for some reason…

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

