Creative musings in bright colors

Magenta Blocks

We have almost reached the end of my Eva-loves-zoya rampage! (Translation: my manis for the next few posts will not necessarily have anything to do with zoya polish, and if they do its just because I love it not because I haven’t played with it yet, other than Friday’s post). That being said, this post is the exception. When I ordered my newest batch of polish, I specifically wanted to find a nice dark pink…seeing as how I own exactly 0 dark pink cremes. I also wanted a medium dark purple, since the only one I have is very shimmery. I decided to put together color blocks with my new polishes to determine which I liked best.

IMG_3074

I ended up with three polishes: Ciara (pink, middle), Veronica (pink/red, left), and Margo (pink/purple, right). Half the time I think I want to keep all three (they ARE slightly different), and half the time I only want one. Or two. Do I really need all three?

IMG_2962

When they are all on different nails, it is pretty easy to tell them apart. On my pinky is a true red (Siren by Pure Ice), my ring finger has Veronica, middle has Ciara, and pointer has Margo. The problems began when I tried to color-block. I couldn’t figure out which color I had already added to which nail because THEY WERE ALL TOO SIMILAR! It was mildly traumatic.

IMG_2968

Things got easier when I separated the blocks with pink striping tape, but even so, I was hard-pressed to identify Margo from Veronica from Ciara in certain lights.

IMG_2981

IMG_6343

The design I went with was inspired by Lucy’s Stash, but you can see her design far easier than you can mine! That was partially intentional, but I really didn’t expect to have this hard of a time.

IMG_3054

So, readers, what do you think? Of my three new pinks, which one(s) should I keep and which one(s) should I donate to my sister? I keep going back and forth! I think I need to keep Veronica, she fills my stated goal well. But Ciara is such a pretty pink and is just a shade lighter and a bit less opaque, while Margo is a lovely purple (that being said, she is the WRONG purple…she is too pink/red for the gradient I had in mind. I needed a more blue-toned purple).

IMG_6341

Also, which is your favorite? If I only had to keep one, which would it be? 😀

Comments on: "Magenta Blocks" (7)

  1. My brain hurts! I think I like Margo best but ciara fits the brief best. I’m not sure if that helps. So that would mean veronica for your sister. Hmmm yep my brain definitely hurts.

    • hahaha! I’m glad someone else is getting brain pain. They’ve been sitting on my bathroom sink STARING AT ME for days now and i can’t decide!

  2. I love this design it’s so beautiful

  3. I’d keep Chiara and Margo too if I were you, Typing this I see I totally agree with Annette.. No my brain hurts too.

    One question: You wear striping tape to better seperate the colours. Did you just put it for the pictures or did you really “wear” it? If you wore it, did it last? I made a nail design some days ago and accentuate the nails with striping tape too and it basically peeled off by the end of the day.

    • right, so i wore it…but it took some playing with over the last two years to figure out how. Basically, once everything is dry I do put on striping tape over the mani. I then add a (thick) layer of top coat and a little dollip of top coat just were the striping tape ends (so here, at the ends of my nails). even so, it only lasts about 2-3 days, but i do get some wear out of it. if you don’t add top coat or only add one thin layer it doesnt stay on well. sometimes i add two coats of top coat.
      hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

