Creative musings in bright colors

X Marks the Spot

The best gift I got this holiday season was actually from Mentality polish…they let us (the bloggers) pick out 9 polishes from any of their past collections and sent them to us! Which means I have my paws on some truly spectacular polish 😀 It’s actually so bad that I am putting off wearing a few of them until I can come up with some nail art that does them justice! I just couldn’t resist starting with this combo though 🙂

IMG_7230

Here we have the beautiful golden holographic polish Euphoria with an accent of Sailor. Euphoria is mind-bogglingly pretty. Opaque in two very easily controlled coats, she is …well, complicated. The easiest thing to say would be that she is a gold scattered holo polish with gold flakies of some variety. But she also has bits of red glitter that give a slight pink tinge and I think there are some silver flakies in there too? I have NO IDEA. In the sunlight she simply glows rainbows (see the blurry photo farther down) and in the shade…woah. My camera was flipping out. I was having trouble making it focus!

IMG_5021

IMG_7235

Sailor (which will get its own mani and post sometime soon) is a stunning deep blue matte polish that would be metallic if it weren’t matte. I love it. Hauntingly dark. Shown here is two coats (but you have to work fast as with all matte polishes…it can streak as it dries if you overwork it).

IMG_5091

I basically just decided to cover up as little of Euphoria as I could get away with, while still contrasting the glossy finish with the matte finish of Sailor. So we have some tiny pieces of scotch tape and then some tinier pieces of striping tape. Also dots, because dots rock.

IMG_7231

IMG_5104

If you want to pick up either Euphoria ($9.25) or Sailor ($6.75) (and seriously, these polishes are so damn pretty I don’t even know what to do with myself…I think Euphoria might also be work appropriate because if you aren’t in the sun it just looks like a stunning rose gold polish), head on over to the Mentality website. You won’t be disappointed!

Comments on: "X Marks the Spot" (10)

  1. Ok you’re definitely coming to Australia now. This too cool and I need it on my nails…he he he love it 🙂

  2. Euphoria is freaking stunning!! :O Adding that one to my list!

    • I KNOW! And she has a red-toned sister (rapture) that I’ll be showing off in a few days who is EQUALLY STUNNING. I don’t know what to do about it. But really, Euphoria is totally worth buying.

  3. Jeannie C. said:

    Oh wow! This mani is VERY nice!

  4. Very pretty mani; great polishes! How did you learn to use camera and which one to get, please?

    • This is actually my old camera from 2006…they don’t make it any more. Its a tiny canon point-and-shoot, but it does great macro photos! My new camera is better in general but can’t do color-accurate macro shots. I just played around a lot with cameras when I was younger and…yah. You don’t need a fancy camera to take great photos. The worst admission? All of my in the sun photos are taken on my iphone.

  5. This is a beautiful manicure!! Euphoria is absolutely gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

