Creative musings in bright colors

Absent Royalty

Remember how yesterday I said I would do more nail art with The Unloved and Monet’s Garden but I didn’t mention Absent Minded? That’s because I already had this lined up! I like to think I was channeling The Nailasaurus  with this one…because I have one glitter nail, one striping tape nail, two normal nails, and some gradient dots. But the stars here are the polishes, all three of them are STUNNING!

IMG_7401

This mani took two Mentality polishes and one Emily de Molly polish, plus matte top coat. And I love it! So simple, yet somehow stunning. Absent Minded you saw last week (the purple glitter on my ring finger). Here it is again, three thin coats. I think I like it better shiny rather than matte, but both are cool! These photos are more color-accurate than last weeks…it is a bright jewel purple, not a dark purple! My middle finger was two coats of Shatter by Mentality, a pink subtly holographic polish with tons of gold flecks and glitter.

IMG_5155

IMG_5217

The new polish (and the reason I re-wore Absent Minded) is the purple matte…Royalty by Mentality. Royalty is a beautiful shade of medium purple with red undertones and subtle glitter. And by “subtle glitter” I mean tiny bits of pink and blue shimmer that is mind-boggling pretty on the nail! I need to try and top coat this polish, I can only imagine what the shimmer will do then! Royalty covers well at two coats and fires down to a matte finish that is slightly satiny.

IMG_5193

I (obviously) did not top coat my middle finger after using Royalty over striping tape. My advice with mattes and tape? WORK FAST. I think I got the tape off here in record speed. Mattes are great for tape because they don’t seep everywhere like cremes (so they won’t try to go under the tape and make a mess) but they dry really fast so if you don’t work quickly they pull! That being said, I think the criss-cross pattern on my middle finger might be one of my favorite bits of striping tape art ever. I actually had to diagram it before I put it on, I wanted to make the crossing look normal!

IMG_7402

if you like Royalty as much as I did, you can find her at the Mentality website (along with Shatter)! Royalty is $6.75, while Shatter is $8.50 (because its holographic). Hope you enjoyed!

Comments on: "Absent Royalty" (10)

  1. Wow I think I died and went to purple heaven. These are just stunning. Sigh…

  2. I have Royalty and it is one of my favorite Mentality polishes. So gorgeous! I’m in awe of how that middle finger turned out.

  3. That nail with the striping tape design is incredible! I love these!

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

