Creative musings in bright colors

Loki

So this was a FUN manicure! I knew what I wanted to do when I started, but my initial idea was more along the lines of making it look like a brocade dress. The end result (gold swirls on black, beautiful deep green matte) really reminded me of the outfit Loki wore in The Avengers, so here we go!

IMG_5588

As a side note, I am a bit of an Avengers fan-girl. I love what is being done with the Marvel universe and so now I feel a need to create a mani for each of the Avengers. Eventually. We’ll see how this goes.

IMG_5562

In the meantime, check out the wonder that is Reclaim, a blackened green matte by Mentality! I seriously love this color (which is why I saved it for last. I am actually posting this out of order because I need you all to coo over this mani sooner rather than later :-D). It covered nicely in one medium-thick coat over black, and two thin coats on its own (ring finger and thumb). I absolutely ADORE the color! Its a deep emerald green that looks shimmery despite the matte finish. I might need to try top coating this just to see what happens!

IMG_5438
Colors
~ Green matte: Mentality – Reclaim
~ Black: Sinful Colors – Black on Black
~ Gold: Essie – Penny Talk
~ Gold glitter: Mentality – Rapture

IMG_7451

The stamp was also provided for review, although you can’t see much of it I promise it’s pretty and transferred really well. It is plate 17 from the Born Pretty Store, and I love it! I was almost tempted not to cover it with a design, but I had to follow my plans (and I am glad I did!).

IMG_7442

You can pick up the lovely Reclaim for $6.75 (and I strongly recommend you do!), or the Born Pretty Store stamping plate for $2.99 (my design is the upper corner of the top left design, and the whole design on my accent nails). Hope you enjoyed this as much as I did!!

Comments on: "Loki" (7)

  1. Coo coo coo ooo er its awesome! Reclaim is a really lovely polish can’t wait to see it whiney. As for your design…man its spectacular!

  2. Whiney lol I want to see it shiney! Why does autocorrect do that? Lol

  3. Tamara Kossoff said:

    This reminds me of when you/friends wore saris at Indian wedding! So pretty and design is your forte (along with dotting).

  4. kaosangel52 said:

    This is so pretty! I didn’t even see the title and thought that this reminded me of Loki and then I saw the title and laughed 🙂

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

