Creative musings in bright colors

Scales and Bubbles

Sometimes, I go into a bit of art with no inspiration and magic happens. This is magic (as opposed to tomorrows where I went in with no inspiration and …nothing happened). I wanted to create a post to show the differences between 4 Mentality polishes: the pinkish red matte Beautiful, the deep red matte Allure, and the gold + red glitters Euphoria and Rapture. What came out was this!

IMG_5585

I kinda thought about doing vertical lines…but the scales just kinda dynamically popped out. I had grabbed some color-coordinated holos by Nabi and just started doodling. Ta-da!

IMG_7439

IMG_5393

What you can see when there ISN’T art over the polishes, is the differences between them. My pinky has Allure while my pointer has Beautiful. Allure is more of a “true” matte and is a much darker color, while Beautiful has a bit of a shine to it and appears almost matte-metallic. Both covered perfectly in two coats.

IMG_5328

Rapture and Euphoria are a bit harder to tell apart. My ring finger has Euphoria while my middle finger has rapture. Euphoria looks more like a silver + gold combo with larger gold flakies, while Rapture is silver + gold + coppery red with reddish flakies. Both are stunning in the sunlight, and cover completely in two coats. Which one you prefer is up to you! I think Euphoria is a bit brighter, but Rapture is a bit more elegant.

IMG_5535

Colors
~ Pink matte: Mentality – Beautiful
~ Burgundy matte: Mentality – Allure
~ Gold glitter: Mentality – Euphoria
~ Rose gold glitter: Mentality – Rapture
~ Pink holo: Nabi – Winf
~ Red holo: Nabi – Red
~ Burgundy holo: Nabi – Black Berry

IMG_5435

The other fun thing here is that my boyfriend just got me a light box!!!!! So half of these photos come from my lightbox while the other half come from my normal set-up (aka taking photos in my bathroom). What do you think? Do I need a brighter way of lighting up the box or is it pretty good as is?

IMG_7437

So much pretty! I keep trying to play with these polishes more but I really should vary my usage more 😀

IMG_5549

If you want to pick up any of these lovely Mentality polishes, you can find them at the Mentality shop. Beautiful and Allure are each $6.75, while Rapture and Euphoria are $9.25. Enjoy!

Comments on: "Scales and Bubbles" (6)

  1. myishia simmons said:

    The photos are great. Where do you get a light box from? And can you recommend a good camera? Thanks

    • So, I actually use a 7 year old shitty camera…and my iphone. It’s terrible. The light box was the top rated one on amazon, it comes as a cool foldy pack. The lights it comes with aren’t the best, but I’m enjoying it so far! Not sure what the brand was, but it has 4 different backing colors, two lamps, and a tripod included if that helps!

  2. The scales look so great!

  3. this is just gorgeous xx

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

