Creative musings in bright colors

Blue Matte

And see, this is what happens when I have no plan and things just don’t quite plan out. I kinda wanted to try a tape mani with the matte polishes, but the silver polish did NOT cooperate. So I improvised (badly).

IMG_5316

Honestly, the best part of this (wreck) of a manicure is the two darker blue polishes, Sailor and Tough, both by Mentality. Sailor you have seen before…she is a deep beautiful blue matte. Tough is a bit more exiting, more of a metallic medium true blue matte. I need to come up with some better design for Tough!!

IMG_5240

Both polishes went on beautifully in two coats (and removed easily and somehow did not stain. I am used to blue polishes staining!). I wish I could say the same for the darn silver! It’s pretty but so freaking hard to work with. Too fast drying (yes, it is possible for a polish to dry too fast).

IMG_7423

Colors
~ Dark blue matte: Mentality – Sailor
~ Blue matte: Mentality – Tough
~ Light blue matte: KBShimmer – I’d Rather Be With Blue
~ Silver: Sally Hansen – Sterling Silver

IMG_7424

Anyway, I hope you like the blues. Both Tough and Sailor can be found at the Mentality website for $6.75. I promise I’ll come up with a better way to show off Tough, at some point. Oy.

Comments on: "Blue Matte" (11)

  1. Grrr to polishes that dry to fast. I always go for Essies no place like home for silver. Having said that it still looks uber cool. I love love love tough it’s really pretty. Looking toward to seeing more of it.

  2. a) What’s so terrible about the “tape,” or lack thereof EXCEPT: are you using a detail or a striping brush? I think one is supposed to use a striping brush to get clean lines by placing the bristles one side down onto the paper and pushing a tiny bit forward and then pulling up so there is a single stroke and thereby smooth edge to the lines. I don’t think it would be possible to do that with a detail brush or even a larger brush but not the “side-down” stroke.
    My “experience” is from reading about techniques and watching various demo’s rather than learning the techniques from practice….
    On the brighter side, another confirmation of your prowess in dotting!! I really like the colors, also, even if you think the silver didn’t behave.

  3. Even though it didn’t come out like you wanted, I really like it – especially the pinky as I really think you do swirl designs so well!

  4. Jeannie C. said:

    I love your mani’s! They are simple, yet elegant and very cool!

  5. Stupid jerk silver polish. 😦 I think they look pretty great, though – love the colours together.

  6. OMGoodness
    It’s sooo pretty!! Even with the silver not playing along.

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

