Creative musings in bright colors

Golgi Stain

I have waited over 3 months to post this mani. It just never seemed right! But I have no other post lined up for today so he we go…one of my recent masterpieces. What you see on my fingertips are neurons, as they would look when stained with a Golgi stain. Each finger is a different type of neuron found in the human brain. I am very proud of myself :-p

IMG_3951

First, some science. The background (brownish nude) is what the stain actually looks like through the microscope, with the neurons showing up in black.
-Thumb: Hippocampal neuron. What you see is the cell body with a number of dendrites (input parts) coming off of it, and a longer thiner process going off towards the free edge of my nail, the axon (which transmits the signal to the next cell)
-Pointer: small interneurons, which act as local relay systems between two neighboring neurons
-Middle: Medium spiny neuron, which uses inhibition (its a GABA neuron) to control motor function of the body and eyes
-Ring: Purkinje cell, possibly one of the most iconic neurons. They live in your cerebellum and function as the only output for all cerebellar motor coordination
-Pinky: Pyramidal cell, the primary excitatory cell in the brain. It is found all over the place (and my pinky is too small for it!)

IMG_3965

I wore this to the Society for Neuroscience conference in DC a few months ago, and it was great! Not many people noticed, but those who did got a real kick out of it 🙂

IMG_6647

I used surprisingly few colors in this mani, mostly cause I didn’t need to. But what I didn’t use in colors I made up for in time spent. This must have taken me 3 hours. Oy!

IMG_6651

Colors
~ Nude: Zoya – Chantal
~ Brown: Zoya – Dea
~ Grey: Maybelline – Bare Escape
~ Black: Sinful Colors – Black on Black

IMG_3929

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed your impromptu neuroscience lesson! I’m sure I’ll do science nails again at some point, I just don’t have any conferences on the horizon. Enjoy!

Comments on: "Golgi Stain" (15)

  1. I totally loved my science lesson. I studied science when I first left school too many years ago now and my housemate (who studied art) and I did some wonderful collaborative artwork of different bacteria using different stains. It looked so cool. This reminded me of that.

    • Science art is some of my favorite art. Really, the whole reason I ended up in graduate school is that I looked through a microscope in 7th grade. I was hooked. Its awesome

  2. This is such an impressive manicure!

  3. Jeannie C. said:

    This is great! I also enjoyed the science lesson. I also love work/hobby/scholarly mani’s. I’m a librarian and when I go to conferences I usually do some sort of mani related to my area of expertise. Like at your conference, few people notice, but those that do get a kick out of it. Especially the vendors with whom I do business with.

  4. This is a great n/a design and I expect to spend time learning about the different kinds of neurons which I seem to go out of my way not to come to understand, perhaps because it might go to explain to myself something about my neuroses 🙂

    • Hahaha, there are too many types of neurons to bother learning about all of them. But many of them do look cool!

      • Eva, thanks very much for sharing your n/a and your info. It is nice to have the benefit of your enthusiasm and ability.

  5. You could also have called this one Nifty Neuron Nails. 😉

    Love the unique nail art, it turned out fantastic. 😀

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

