Creative musings in bright colors

Violet Beauregard

A week or so ago I asked if anyone had any nail art requests…and I actually got one response! One of my readers wanted me to do some Violet Beauregard nails, from Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. As creepy as I find that movie (seriously, “is it raining is it snowing is a hurricane a-blowing” used to make me shudder) I though it was a cool idea! So, some Violet nails and a tutorial 🙂

IMG_6813

Although Violet is famous for becoming a human blueberry, I figured nails were a bit too small of a canvas for an expanding person. I just made her dress! As it turns out (through copious google searching) Violet actually wears blue. Go figure!

IMG_6835

IMG_6804

Colors
~ Blue: Zoya – Tart
~ Dark blue: Maybelline – Midnight Swim
~ Red: City Colors – Red
~ Gold: Sally Hansen – Liquid Gold

IMG_7571

This is also the most you will ever see of my naked nail. My nails are kind of a mess! I don’t think they like being this long…but I like them this long. So I will deal and you shall see no naked nails.

Tutorial

Step 1: Paint the nails a true blue (I used a slightly metallic blue for added shimmer). Don’t forget to first apply base coat, blues can stain!
Step 2: Using 100% acetone, remove a half-moon from your cuticle. This will create the neck scoop of Violet’s dress
Step 3: Using a darker blue polish, create two semi-circles around the half-moon. These will become her collar.
Step 4: Using a bright red polish, add a thick band near the free end of your nail to create her belt.
Step 5: Using a thin nail art brush, create a rectangle out of gold polish around the center of the red belt band. This creates the belt buckle.
Step 6: Using a small dotting tool (unbent paper clip for me!) and gold polish, add 3-4 buttons in a line between the middle of the blue collar and the belt. Top coat and enjoy!

Violet Beauregard

Comments on: "Violet Beauregard" (8)

  1. Great colors/polishes and very cute design, I think!

  2. Ahhhh thi is so cool! I love the Zoya metallic blue you used!!!
    Well, which movie do you find creepier: the original one or the newest by Tim Burton? 🙂

    • So different! Overall, I think the Tim Burton one is creepier. It was INTENDED to be creepier. I like the original better, but that one scene with the boat just gets to me. Eeeeeeeery!

  3. I love the Tim Burton one… And you now have to share your naked nails. 😛

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

