Creative musings in bright colors

Elven

This is one of my favorite manis in a while. Maybe I just have a thing for green and gold…but seriously. I wanted to play around more with loops and half-moon designs, and just ran with it. The star of the show today is the last of my new Mentality polishes, Resist. I am fairly certain this is my new favorite holo polish.

IMG_7543

Resist is drop-dead gorgeous. I took so many pictures of this polish before I finished the design that I had over 100 photos to delete. Resist is wonderfully self-leveling and opaque in two thin coats. Control is perfect. The polish is a deep blackened green with a scattered holographic finish. In indirect lighting, it looks like it has vein of silver running through it…and in the sunlight it glows. Unlike most holos (which can be patchy and hard to work with) Resist was a breeze, and was more than useable for nail art (see my accent nails!).

IMG_6000

IMG_6008

The idea for my accent nail came from Camelia Benelli, who appears to do awesome accent nail lace designs! I never would have thought of adding gold studs without her art. The other nails are all me. Because I just can’t resist dots.

IMG_6144

IMG_6090

I was trying to figure out what to name this and the boyfriend keeps staring at my nails: “they look like something the Rivendell elves would wear” (from Lord of the Rings). While I don’t think I agree (that is to say, Rivendell is mostly rivers and mountainside, I think the elves of Lothlorien (the forest home) would wear this proudly! Hence the title, Elven 🙂

IMG_7539

Colors
~ Green: Mentality – Resist
~ Gold: Sally Hansen – Liquid Gold

IMG_6106

Fairly simple mani, awesome payoff! If you want to pick up Resist (which I strongly recommend…it has been a while since I have seen a holo that is beautiful without being in-your-face painfully bright and the color is just so stunning!), you can find it at the Mentality website for $7.75. It’s worth it.

Comments on: "Elven" (6)

  1. I love that you added the studs to this! 🙂

  2. Very, very pretty!!!

  3. Oh my…loving this green polish, it’s so rich & juicy!

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

