Creative musings in bright colors

Unloved and Shattered

First off, this is NOT a reflection of my relationship. I told the boyfriend what I was going to call this mani (and showed him the mani) and he immediately stated “all your nail friends are going to think that I dumped you and you are depressed!!” so just a heads up, I AM HAPPY. So happy. Because this nail art came out exactly how I imagined (and also boyfriend is adorable)!

IMG_6537

I had been wanting to use The Unloved by Emily de Molly again with proper lighting (and my new lightbox!) but I couldn’t think of anything appropriate. And then I remembered the creepy shattered mirror stamp from the new Bundle Monster collection…and I just had to try a James Bond-esque bleeding shattered mirror concoction. Voila!

IMG_6679

So, we have two coats of the stunningly beautiful The Unloved, one coat of the best silver metallic ever (Excalibur by A England) and Bundle Monster stamp 608. Also some blood (Valerie by Zoya) and hot pink/red rhinestones. This mani has all the good stuff 😀

IMG_6664

IMG_6582

I am not looking forward to taking this off though…I forgot to put glue down as my base coat so I am going to be scraping off circle glitters for hours. Sadness!

IMG_7599

Anyway, hope you enjoyed! Anyone else doing some creepy anti-Valentines manicures this month? The rest of the ones this week are more normal lovey and all :-p

Comments on: "Unloved and Shattered" (26)

  1. Hehehe that’s what I thought. That bf dumped you or something. I absolutely love it though, not valentiney (don’t know if it’s a word, totally made it up) at all. Why don’t you use the foil method for the glitter?

    • The foil method destroys my nail beds, and my normal hand cream is just not quite up to par to re-hydrate them by the time i want to take images of whatever nail art I do.
      I’m glad I added the “no seriously I’m still happy” caveat!

      • Ah luckily I have a polish remover with olive oil and it’s actually very hydrating. Pity the company closed down. But I have 2 back up bottles that I now only use for the foil method.

      • Olive oil?! Huh! Go figure. My polish remover is the regular cheap rite aid brand stuff…I use too much to splurge on anything fancy

      • Family Dollar store has a polish remover with Argon that is the same price as regular – well, maybe a few cents more – and I couldn’t believe how much it moisturized my nails while removing old polish.
        I couldn’t find one around here, in Manhattan, so when I was outside Boston visiting family my son shlepped me to one of the chain of stores there and I bought five bottles while I could get it. If you can track down one of those stores, try the product!

      • Hrmmmm I haven’t seen any in Philly, but I’ll keep an eye out! It would be nice to have something that moisturizes rather than kills my poor cuticles!

      • I checked the store locator for Family Dollar stores and they have a number of stores in Philly but you have to check the distance from where you are.

  2. This is intense and I love it!

  3. Gorgeous! This is easily the best anti Valentine mani ever!

  4. I love the broken mirror nails.

    • I know! I really wanted to use the stamp as soon as I saw it but I couldn’t think of anything deserving of it…and then this popped up!

  5. i love anti- valentines mani. it’s good to stir things up

  6. Super cool. Well done. 🙂

  7. Oh wow, Unloved and Shattered looks beautiful. Things I never thought I’d say…

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

