Creative musings in bright colors

Lace Stockings

This one isn’t quite Valentines themed, but I figured floral lace is good enough! This mani is actually a disappointment…not because of the design, but because of the base color. Zoya recently had a promotion where they gave away three free mini colors in addition to whatever you bought, and this is one of them. And it is UGLY.

IMG_7673

The mini trio consisted of a deep “dirt” brown/black, a pale gold metallic, and the color shown here, a nude creme. I was most excited for this one, because I am always in the market for new nudes. I was NOT in the market for a greenish-yellow nude that made my nails looked diseased. Seriously, I have seen people with chronic illnesses in the hospitals with nails that looked healthier than this color. I bet it would look good on people with darker skin tones, but it looks awful on me! Anyway, the polish is named Charlotte, and covered nicely in two coats. If only it weren’t a terrible color.

IMG_7192

I decided to try and separate the color away from my skin tone, so I stamped with black and added some red highlights. It actually worked…my nails no longer look sickly! I am particularly happy with the tiny red french tips.

IMG_7671

Colors
~ Nude: Zoya – Charlotte
~ Black: Sinful Colors – Black on Black
~ Red jelly: Philly Loves Lacquer – On The Way To Cape May
~ Red metallic: Zoya – Isla
~ Stamp: Bundle Monster – 618

IMG_7329

Hope you enjoyed! Tomorrow is the last of my Valentine’s mani…and is actually love themed 🙂

Comments on: "Lace Stockings" (11)

  1. It’s an unusual colour, soooooo obviously I like it! 🙂 I love what you did with it though.

  2. I agree the nail polish color is not to die for, but it looks great after you did your art on top of it.

  3. Yeah, the base color leaves a lot to be desired, but it make a wonderful base for your stamping!

  4. Tamara Kossoff said:

    Could it be that either your camera lens or your lighting are making Charlotte look more green than it does on my nail (and in the bottle) under my new-type curly fluorescent bulbs, whatever the real name of the lighting is?

    Because I fairly recently had one cataract lens removed and a replacement implanted, that eye sees blue-white while the other eye sees a much more yellow-brown color. My my vision matches most of the rest of my body being a “diminished,” bionically supplemented mess but I definitely don’t see the color that I see on your site so one of the “captures” must be off.

    Also, for the Anise, I see more of a metallic, “oil-slick” effect than a real black which may have been what you expected, or at least hoped for.

    >

  5. Gorgeous design!

  6. Such a fantastic mani!!!

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

