Creative musings in bright colors

Seedy Severine

This polish…blargh. All three of the new Zoya minis (from their New Years collection giveaway thing) were duds. I put on Severine and it just looked…odd. Its too green-toned for me, and too brush-stroky. I do love my metallics, and this just didn’t cut it. I ended up putting green over it (seriously, green and gold is my thing!) and rescuing the color with my current favorite green polish. Because green glittery holos that stamp well save all manicures!

IMG_7817

It’s so strange. Zoya’s deep glow-from-within metallics are some of my very favorite polishes (namely Isla and Holly, a red and green respectively), and some of their less-glowy polishes are still awesome (Tart, a blue). That being said, in their metal tones they fail. The only Zoya I ever bought intentionally and do not wear is a copper metallic called Penny (I do use it in art occasionally, but never as a base…its too thin, the color is a bit off, and it streaks like woah), and I have to add Severine to the list of fails. It takes three coats to be opaque, is streaky despite my best efforts, and just isn’t a nice pure gold like I would prefer.

IMG_7613

What that REALLY means is that this mani needed to be rescued with some Resist by Mentality. I didn’t know for sure if this polish would stamp, but I had to try it. And voila! Thin stripes of tape, a stamp (bundle monster plate 201), and some straight lines and dots and we have a passable mani!

IMG_7714

I still can’t center my stamps (oy) but at least I’ve gotten better at making them line up across my nail. For someone who stamps as much as I do, I really should be better at this.

IMG_7763

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed! The take-away from this post is to only go for jewel-toned Zoya metallics, not metal-toned. But place your faith in blackened holos from Mentality 😀

Comments on: "Seedy Severine" (2)

  1. myishia simmons said:

    I like this a lot and I agree with you about the zoya base, but you rescued it magnificently.

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

