Creative musings in bright colors

Yellow Weeds

So, a few weeks ago I did a grey/yellow mani. That was a fail because I hate yellow and it ruins all things. But in my hunt to make that mani (disaster as it was), I found some rather cool grey-and-yellow art (painting art) that I wanted to try and turn into a mani. So, here we go…a yellow NON failure. It’s a miracle!

IMG_8278

This was a complicated bit of nail art, but I’m happy with how it turned out. Using the painting (below) as my inspiration, I started with a light grey base. I then loosely brushed on three other colors of grey in a gradient (just using the nail polish brush). Once those were dry, I used on elf the medium grays to make the shadowy weeds (dots and curves). Using the darkest grey I added small grass to the bottom. Finally, I made thin brown stalks and added white, light yellow, and regular yellow dots of varying sizes to be the weeds themselves. I finished it off with matte top coat.

IMG_8232

grey and yellow

Despite how long this mani took (close to two hours), it was a lot of fun! Although I call what I do ‘nail art’, it isn’t often that I feel like I’m doing actual art. This, however, totally counts!

IMG_8275

Colors
~ Light grey: Maybelline – Bare Escape
~ Medium light grey: NYC – Sidewalkers
~ Medium dark grey: WOW – #333
~ Dark grey: Zoya – Yuna
~ White: Sinful Colors – Snow me White
~ Brown: Zoya – Louise
~ Light yellow: Maybelline – Citrus Collide
~ Yellow: WOW – #301

IMG_8211

I hope you enjoyed! Maybe I’ll try some more artsy art soon 😀

Comments on: "Yellow Weeds" (8)

  1. Really nice work! Good execution but also “upliftingly enjoyable to look at!” TX for sharing.

  2. This mani is lovely! My first thought when I saw it was dandelions and fireflies. 😊 It totally reminds me of playing outside as a youngster.

  3. Very nice. I like your look better than the actual painting.

  4. This is beautiful !

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

