Creative musings in bright colors

Allusion-ary

Up today we have a two-color mani that somehow managed to look cool rather than boring! I was wracking my brain trying to figure out what to do about Allusion by Mentality (something that I wanted to involve both stamping and whole-nail coverage) and just started grabbing stuff. Ta-da!

IMG_7908

Allusion is a lovely purple/brown-grey stamping metallic polish. I used two thin coats here, but you could easily get away with one. Perfect control, not to thick, easy to work with. The color comes off as a grey, until you hold it up next to grey, when it is clearly purplish brown! Kinda cool.

IMG_9310

Allusion also stamps well (seen here over a black glitter). It does dry fairly quickly, so work fast with your stamping (although I did not have any trouble)!

IMG_7904

Colors
~ Grey metallic: Mentality – Allusion
~ Black: Zoya – Storm
~ Stamp: Bundle Monster – 223

IMG_9294

The rest of the design was mostly just me being random 😀 I decided to use Storm by Zoya again, since I had wanted this polish forever and I think I’ve only worn it 2 or 3 times despite owning it for almost two years! Funny how that works. The pairing is totally awesome though!

IMG_9328

If you like Allusion, you can pick her up for $6.50 with free US shipping from the Mentality shop!

Comments on: "Allusion-ary" (11)

  1. Yeah, Eva!! Looks gorgeous and, finally, a design that makes the little white dots in polish look like a plus instead of a mess, to me, at least. This is a real “wear everyday, forever” n/a design for around here!

    • Thanks! And they are holo glittery bits (its fun in the sunlight)!

      • I always think, “holo, how great” but I really didn’t understand what it inferred although I keep buying “flakes” that have the greatest sparkle which I try to be sure won’t dissolve in polish. It was on my list of things to check out.
        I don’t think there is a polish company that doesn’t have a line of “dotted” polishes, today, and it all looks like a “messed up” addition since I really didn’t notice a whole lot of sparkle from where I sit.
        Your designs in this mani, however, balance the sort of “textured” look, not 3D but more 2D, I mea,n and I thought it was very attractive.
        BTW, are Ott lite and Verilux bothl full-spectrum or is there a difference, if you happen to know? I am thinking of replacing my track lights with full-spectrum if I find the bulbs at COSTCO or at a place online where I buy hard-to-find sizes and types. The Happy light has made such a difference in how I feel as I haven’t gone out nearly all winter and was really sleeping terribly.

      • no idea about the lights sorry!!

  2. Well, that’s super pretty. If you used that stamp in black over a purple base, you’d pretty much have the Damask wallpaper in the Haunted Mansion. That’s a very good thing! 🙂

  3. Oh this is so pretty! 🙂 *sneaks off to add Allusion to my wishlish*

  4. These are incredible, thanks so much for sharing

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

