Creative musings in bright colors

Nucleotides

(And now for something completely different) It’s been a while since I’ve done rainbows! Mostly because if I have to carry more than 5 nail polish colors from my shelf into the bathroom (where I paint), I have to carry them using the hem of my shirt and it is FREEZING in my apartment. Thus, if it takes more than one hand to hold the polish I want…I tend to not try that mani! But today was a bit warmer so I went full rainbow!

IMG_7801

Also, my sister did nucleotide nails not too long ago (I will show them to you guys at some point, most likely when I travel to Thailand (!!!) in May. Lots of guest posts then!) and I had to try and one-up her (sorry Jo!). So, rainbow nucleotides!

IMG_8614

I couldn’t just do rainbows one-per-nail cause that’s boring, so I decided to dig out one of the bundle monster stamps that reminds me of a double helix! I do wish I had the set that ACTUALLY has a helix, but I never bough it! Hence, this stamp 😀

IMG_8565

On my nails are the nucleotides that make up DNA (and RNA). They pair up (A-T/A-U, G-C) to make genetics happen. Pinky – Cytosine, ring – Guanine, middle – Thymine (DNA only), pointer – Adenine, thumb – Uracil (RNA only). Dots at the points on the rings indicate oxygen or nitrogen (rather than carbon) and the double lines are double bonds. Whee science! [Bonus points for anyone who catches my mistake, and there is one!]

Colors
~ Pink: Wet n’ Wild – Tickled Pink
~ Red: Pure Ice – Siren
~ Light orange: Maybelline – Bleached in Peach
~ Orange: Zoya – Thandie
~ Light yellow: Maybelline – Citrus Collide
~ Dark yellow: OPI – Just Spotted The Lizard
~ Light green: Essie – The More The Merrier
~ Dark green: Zoya – Shawn
~ Light blue: Sally Hansen – Breezy Blue
~ Dark blue: Zoya – Ling
~ Black: Sinful Colors – Black on Black
~ Stamp: Bundle Monster – 203

IMG_7808

Hope you enjoyed! Back to one-or-two color manis for the foreseeable future (aka until it warms up darn it!).

Comments on: "Nucleotides" (6)

  1. I love how you did the background to each nail!

  2. I love that a mani can be beautiful, fun, and educational all at once…amazing! 😍

  3. These are so cute and so science-y! I love it!

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

