Creative musings in bright colors

Purple Tulips

Apparently, I have a thing for purple flowers. You haven’t seen them yet, but there are two more purple flower posts coming up. Today’s, however, was done because I wanted to play with the large circle glitters I got from KBShimmer! Turns out when you place an order, they add some extra fun stuff. Unfortunately, since my nails are tiny and short right now, I don’t want to play with my new awesome glitter polishes because I want to get the glitter ON MY NAILS and…short nails not good for glitter polish. Boooooo!

IMG_9975

So. Glitter. The mix I got was the “spring glitter mix” and it has large purple, teal, blue, and gold circles, plus smaller gold circles. I kinda wanna do a scale mani with all of them! To start with though, I made some glitter-and-flower nail art (my flowers are terrible, yes, I know) inspired by Ruth’s Nail Art.

IMG_8036

Colors
~ Light purple: Sally Hansen – Lacey Lilac
~ Dark purple: Sinful Colors – Fig
~ Green: Sinful Colors – Exotic Green

IMG_8031

I don’t want to just give up and try to use acrylic instead of polish…but trying to get tiny thin lines is driving me nuts!!!

IMG_9954

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed!

Comments on: "Purple Tulips" (9)

  1. myishia simmons said:

    You’re flowers are not terrible. Trust me they are wwaayyyy better than I could ever accomplish.

    • keep practicing! To be fair, mine are about 400% better than when I started….but no, my flowers could use some work. Dots I can do :-p

  2. No scotch tape for the thin polished lines? I love your handprinted flowers and the color purple is just lovely, pure iris!

    • No scotch tape! i’ve been trying to get better a free-handed lines…I can make them straight at this point, but not particularly thin!

      • Are you using the long-haired striping brush for thin strokes? You place the loaded bristle-hairs where you want the stroke to be and then lift it as you move in the direction you want to leave paint/polish, another technique requiring practice, as you mentioned.

      • Haha, nope. Just a thin old paintbrush.

      • If you do want thin, controlled stripes (or other shape lines) you might want to check out Robin Moses (who you would also like due to her using acrylics to get any polish color besides clear) as she shows how to use a brush bristles to produce whatever it is you wish to have on your nails. I think you are familiar with her videos on her website/blog.

      • Yup, I’ve seen her videos before. I am still refusing to use acrylic (although that might change since I have been consistently unable to manage one-stroke nail art with normal polish), and I am aware of how to use a long striping brush…its just that my only one is what I use for designs in water marbling and its a mess!

      • Sometimes dollar stores that sell L.A. Colors or similar lower-cost polishes also have their n/a scrolling/striping brush polishes (often in a square, tall bottle) with the kind of brush you need. You could keep an eye open for that. (I have no personal experience with the quality of those brushes but they probably sell to a lot of people so if they were so bad, odds are they would have been changed along the way.)

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

