Creative musings in bright colors

Weeds

I have been staring at a design by kimiko7878 for weeks, waiting until I had a creme polish that I wanted to swatch and do some fun black/white art with! So, here we have Escape to Neverland by Salon Perfect, and art inspired by kimiko 🙂

IMG_0137

Escape to Neverland is a stunning green-leaning teal polish, which covers in two thin coats (and honestly I probably could have gotten away with one). I love this polish. Smooth, pretty, and awesomely colored! I half expected this to stain due to the high pigmentation, but it didn’t (of course I had base coat on, but that hasn’t stopped some other polishes I know…).

IMG_0055

What I did find rather hilarious was that, despite not staining, this teal polish eats white! While my pinky and ring fingers only got black swoops added, I decided to add white AND black to my thumb. Before top coat, you can see all three colors as I intended them. AFTER top coat (and yes, there is only one angled photo because it really looked silly) the white turned lime green! So, note of caution: the teal eats white polish and renders it green. It’s a pretty green…but not white.

IMG_0106

Colors
~ Teal: Salon Perfect – Escape to Neverland
~ White: Salon Perfect –
~ Black: Sinful Colors – Black on Black

IMG_0092

I was all set to take some photos of this mani in the sun…aaand then my nail snapped off. So the next few manicures featuring my left hand (aka the ones with slightly better nail art and thinner lines) are going to be with new funny shaped nails. I basically either had to cut them off entirely (no!!) or do a quasi-oval shape. So here we go! I don’t like it. But that’s life!

IMG_8052

On the plus side, I can and have been stalking lacquerstyle even more than usual, since she has oval nails and somehow manages to make pretty nail art anyway! …although I sorely lack her thin-line-drawing skills. You shall see. Anyway, enjoy!

Comments on: "Weeds" (2)

  1. Annette said:

    Pretty colour. Don’t sweat your nail shape the awesome thing about nails is they grow! And I think they’re quite pretty.

    • Aww, thanks! I can’t help but feel that if they were longer (and not rounded) that I would feel a bit more inspired lately though :-/

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - False Nail Sets

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

