Creative musings in bright colors

Precious Gems

I have been wanting to try this for months…but was loathe to cut my nails to an oval shape. Now that I have no choice, I decided to attempt Chalkboard Nails’s “Precious Gems” nail art! Her tutorial was super helpful.

IMG_8100

I have actually done this same design on a friend of mine a good long time ago, and have not yet gotten around to posting those photos. I’m going to have to do a guest-nails post sometime soon to show you guys the art I’ve done on friends! By the time I did these on myself, I didn’t have to franken any colors, and I used almost entirely cremes (on my friend I had to mix in some shimmers). Here I think I only had 2 (my second darkest pink and purple).

IMG_0455

The boyfriend thought they looked like rupees from Zelda, which I think is awesome! Although as far as I know there were no purple or pink rupees.

IMG_8105

Honestly, there are wayyyy too many colors here for me to even want to try and list them all. If you are curious about a specific one let me know and I’ll tell you what it is! I am so proud of my colorful collection 😀

IMG_0477

This is also probably one of the last super-colorful manis for a while, I am beginning to pack up in preparation for moving (last full weekend in April) and I don’t foresee digging 37 polishes (!!!!) out of their shoeboxes before I get settled in!

Comments on: "Precious Gems" (7)

  1. myishia simmons said:

    You did an amazing job, very lovely. Did you do both hands? How long did it take?

    • Only one hand (I only paint my nails 2-3 times a weeks, so my hands are always different in an effort to update the blog daily). It took maybe an hour and a half? But at least 30-45 minutes of that was waiting for the base color to dry/watching youtube videos. So maybe an hour total?

  2. These are so amazing! I’ve been wanting to do some nails for Steven Universe, this would be great for that!

  3. […] rendition (on my own nails) can be found here while Chalkboard Nail’s original design can be found here. She even has a […]

  4. These turned out awesome. I want to give this a try too at some point

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - False Nail Sets

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

