Creative musings in bright colors

Burberry Stickers

How about a change of pace? A few weeks ago, I was contacted by the couple behind Jamberry, and asked if I wanted to review some of their nail wraps. Although I don’t usually go for wraps, they are always fun in a pinch so I said yes. Here we go!

IMG_2563

First off, I have to say that Shelby is a total sweetheart. She sent me a thank-you letter with the wraps, and it was so nice it made me blush! In the envelope were two wraps, one of which I have up here today, a Burberry plaid design, called “Upper East Side” on the website.

IMG_8468

This isn’t quite my usual style (which is to say I don’t tend to go for plaid), but I would also find it impossible to do lines that tiny, so this wrap is definable something I wouldn’t be able to do on my own! Little tiny lines everywhere 🙂 The way these work is you remove their backing, heat them up (I used a hair dryer and held them with tweezers) and then stick them onto your nail. Once positioned properly, you heat them some more until they are well and truly stuck!

IMG_8464

I found it a bit difficult to trim the wrap to the size of my nail bed, but then again I was only sent one wrap (yes, every thing you see here is from a single finger wrap…they are incredibly long! I cut it in half and still had some left over after using it on TWO nails. Woah)! My advice is to use very sharp scissors if you need to cut it. Once it was warmed for 15 or so seconds, it was nice and flexible and I had no trouble getting it onto my nails. I was able to reposition it up to 4 times without issue (by try #4 it actually went where I wanted it to go!).

I did not top coat the wraps, as Jamberry did not say I needed to (although I did for the smaller pieces on my pinky, pointer, and thumb). The wrap started to lift after about 24 hours, and I pulled it off after 48 (it took some work, they do stick well!). I think one of the problems was my inability to completely file the end from the free edge of my nail, my file was being finicky.

IMG_2581

Overall, I think this is a pretty fast way to get intricate art, and although I wouldn’t advise trying to wear the wraps for more than a day or two without top coat (who knows with top coat?), it is certainly a great idea for a special occasion! These wraps are $17 from the Jamberry site. However, keep in mind that even with my longer-than-average nail length, I was able to get 2+ nails out of a single wrap. The set comes with 18 wraps…thats at least 3 manis if you get creative with cutting things!

Comments on: "Burberry Stickers" (2)

  1. I’m not a fan of Jamberry but I love how you cut them up to use with nail art!

    • Thanks! I had so much left over and it just seemed like a shame not to use it…it also made for a much quicker mani since the sticker bits could be by accent nails 🙂

Leave a Reply

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

K's NailArt

Art is everywhere, even on your fingertips!

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Le blog

Nail art

More Nail Polish

Creative musings in bright colors

les ongles de Lucie

de la couleur, un petit peu d'idée, et hop!

