Creative musings in bright colors

Neon Crossing

I had way too much fun with this. Every time I get a new collection from Mentality I line the polishes up and figure out which gradients are my favorite. This time, I settled on an orange-to-pink setup. However, I was also sent a matte white polish (not a new release) so I decided to pull out the striping tape and go to town!

IMG_8645

The white base is Sunny. This polish is awesome, if tricky! Everyone was going nuts over the newest ‘soft white’ released by zoya, and this is more or less the matte version of that polish. Sunny is a delicate white with visible shimmer, however, the shimmer gets lost a bit when the polish dries. I’ll have to add top coat next time so you guys can see it better!

IMG_3107

IMG_3106

The best part, Sunny is almost a one-coater. I added two because I wasn’t prepared for how opaque this polish was, and applied it somewhat streaky. That being said, this is one of the fastest-drying matte polishes I’ve ever worked with (and that is saying something) so you need to work QUICKLY or the whole thing drags!

IMG_3167

After Sunny was dry (it took like 15 minutes. I love matte polishes), I applied my striping tape and added the other polishes! It took two thin coats of polish to get the opacity you see on all the nails except my pinky, which took 3. I might be dreading to use that polish because I don’t want to add 4-5 coats of polish on my bare nail! Oy.

IMG_3160

Colors
~ White: Mentality – Sunny
~ Light orange: Mentality – Eradicate
~ Orange: Mentality – Obliterate
~ Coral: Mentality – Extirpate
~ Pink: Mentality – Wreck
~ Pinkish red: Mentality – Destroy

IMG_8659

I hope you enjoyed! Stay tuned for more specific posts for the neon oranges and pinks here. In the meantime, you can find any of these polishes (including Sunny) for $6.50 at the Mentality Shop. Happy shopping!

Comments on: "Neon Crossing" (4)

  1. Annette said:

    That looks really cool

  2. Frakkadoodle, this is so gorgeous! I love how you used the colors in a subtle gradient from nail to nail. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

