Creative musings in bright colors

Sky Dragon

I’m playing fast and loose with the OMD3 prompts! It’s fun. Today’s prompt was “love” so I decided to work with something I love rather than painting hearts. And, I love dragons! (this really shouldn’t surprise anyone). I also have this awesome dragon stamp from the Born Pretty Store to test out, so it was a win-win situation 😀

IMG_9010

The sad part is I had a whole post typed up and it magically deleted itself, so you are left with this somewhat shorter one because I am pressed for time (and sad that my post self-destructed). Anyway, I love dragons, and the Born Pretty Store was kind enough to send me a dragon (and flower) stamp to review!

IMG_4072

I started off making stamping decals out of different parts of the dragons body, since it was far too large to fit on one nail. I didn’t plan to end up with the dragons face on my thumb, but it was the only nail big enough for most of it! You can see what the decals looked like before I put them on my nails below.

IMG_4045

I made a background of “sky” with a blue creme under Snow Much Fun, avoiding the snowflake glitters. The base looked awesome when I was done, but I didn’t figure on the larger glitters distorting the dragon image when I placed it! or with them somehow darkening the dragon a bit (because the base wasn’t white).

IMG_4091

Honestly, I liked the decals better than my nails when I was done! Maybe if my nails were bigger and I could fit more of the dragon…because the dragon was awesome. But my poor nails are tiny 😦

Colors
~ Blue creme: Sinful Colors – Cinderella
~ Blue/white glitter: KBShimmer – Snow Much Fun
~ Gold: Salon Perfect – Gold Leaf
~ Red: City Color – Red
~ Copper: Pure Ice – Magic
~ Black: Sinful Colors – Black on Black
~ White: Salon Perfect – Sugar Cube
~ Stamp: Y – 015

IMG_8997

If you love dragons like I do, head over to the Born Pretty Store and get this stamp! It’s pretty awesome. I need to play with the flowers next. This plate is $3.99, with an additional 10% off with the code LY5X31. Enjoy!

Comments on: "Sky Dragon" (14)

  1. Annette said:

    Even if the glitters messed a bit with the dragons its still pretty cool. I would love you long time if you were to do a tutorial on how you make your decals. Having said that I loves you long time anyway!

  2. This is really amazing! Great job.

  3. This is pure art!!! 🙂

  4. This is truly amazing

  5. Love these, so beautiful!

  6. […] decal time! During the 31 Day OMD Challenge, I was asked to show how I put together the dragon mani for “love” day…a stamping decal! So here we […]

  7. […] stamp also has dragons on it, which I have used previously but this time I picked out the flowers instead. I’ve figured out that making stamping decals […]

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

