Creative musings in bright colors

Flames, Contained

I got around to practicing with my new Emily de Molly stamping plates, and figured out two things:
1) The reason I was getting huge gaps with my stamp was that I was using the wrong polish. For these tiny lines you need a really thick polish (aka a real stamping polish). I don’t own a stamping polish so I just grabbed a somewhat dried-out old black that I keep around expressly for stamping. Voila, tiny lines!
2) I need to invest in a super squishy stamper. Particularly a rectangular one. I am having massive trouble lining up my nails with the stamp (can you tell?) and I always either squish the free edge of my nails or miss them entirely. For this mani I managed to squish them (see my ring finger).

IMG_4362

Overall, I like this mani. I wish I managed to make the stamp dark on all my nails and that I could manage to center it (oy), but the gradient is rather awesome and the whole thing evokes flames without me having to draw fire!

IMG_4388

Colors
~ Yellow: WOW – #301
~ Orange: Zoya – Thandie
~ Red: Pure Ice – Siren
~ Purple: Zoya – Margo
~ Black: Sinful Colors – Black on Black
~ Stamp: EdM – 11

IMG_9100

The gradient itsself looked rather cool, so I snapped a few photos. It is hard to tell the difference between the orange, red, and purple in the photos for some reason, but in real life it looked pretty! Darn quasi-neons saturating my CCD camera.

IMG_4338

Hope you enjoyed! I mentioned this on Tuesday, but the EdM stamping plates are on sale (well, some of them) at Llarowe. If you like ridiculously intricate stamping patterns, you should check them out. The patterns are actually big enough to cover my thumb, which should make everyone happy!

Comments on: "Flames, Contained" (4)

  1. It is all about the little details! They look great!

    • hahaha thanks. I know I can do better on this one though! I finally got the hang of these stamps early this week (my mani on the 31st is rather stunning) so I’ll have to try this again at some point!

  2. When you stamp, do you press the stamp head straight onto the plate and the do you:
    1. press the “sponge” straight down onto the nail or
    2. roll the sponge onto the nail?
    Whichever way you do it and have problems, perhaps if you try the other way it will give you the effect you desire.
    Also, can you mark the stamper head with arrows to get “center” notation so your image comes out where you want it to be on the nail?

    • So, I currently have a round stamper that has a pretty hard head. I have to roll it on, because squishing it down doesn’t work with a hard stamper. My bigger problem with lining it up is that I usually forget that I’m bad at it, and line it up slanted. I can, in fact, do it right…but it takes more mental effort than I usually give to stamping! I am looking to get a rectangular squishy stamper to fix both problems though

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

