Creative musings in bright colors

Billowing Blue

Here begins a lot of water-based nail designs! I’ve been leaving a cup of water out overnight so the water acclimatizes (and de-gasses and de-chlorinates and all that jazz) making it easy to watermarble with. So, there are 2 water marbles and 2 water spotting manis coming up!

The first is a simple blue-with-blue-and-blue mani. For some reason, the middle color blue (Ling) got a bit buried beneath the other two! I started trying to marble with Rock the Boat but failed, so it is the base color but not used in the marble. I substituted in Cinderalla, which marbled well (for all that it’s a shimmer).

IMG_9301

I forget how much I love Endless Blue, and also how bad it smells! So pretty but gross.

IMG_9324

IMG_5050

Colors
~ Grey blue: Essie – Rock the Boat
~ Light blue: Sinful Colors – Cinderella
~ Medium blue: Zoya – Ling
~ Dark blue: Sinful Colors – Endless Blue

IMG_5053

Hope you enjoyed! Stay tuned for more water-based fun.

Comments on: "Billowing Blue" (11)

  1. I’m quite jealous of people who can watermarble. I just can’t crack it. Having said that it’s just so messy. Anyway it’s a lovely combination. Well done.

    • It is super messy, and tape is your friend! I’ve been marbling a lot this week because I just kept putting out a plastic cup full of water overnight. Makes everything easier!

  2. ooh maybe i need to declimatize my water or whatever ~

  3. Love how your thumb came out – but the whole mani looks marvelous!

    • My thumb is by far my favorite. I don’t know why that one worked so well, but I got double the number of drops to spread on that marble run!

  4. I love it. I’m always a bit envious of people who can water marble like this. Makes me wanna try it again.

    • Do it! Just let the water sit out overnight first, tape your nails, and use creme polishes (preferably newer ones that spread on the water)

  5. myishia simmons said:

    I need to just bite the bullet, and try water marbling again. If I can’t get the hang of it I’ll just make decals though. Yours is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - False Nail Sets

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

