Creative musings in bright colors

Pink Pearls and Black Lace

I am actually rather happy with how this nail art came out! It isn’t as detailed as my inspiration, but I don’t know that it can be. Which is to say, I hereby accuse Nails Master Russia of acrylics or wizardry. They are more or less the same for me, since I have access to neither!

IMG_5143

The base color here is an ULTA brand polish that I picked up for $2 in the clearance bin. Along with quite a few others and one that I dropped and shattered all over myself and the floor. (I hate it when that happens…I always feel awful for not paying for the now-broken polish, and I don’t know if I should wander away or help…). Anyway. This polish is a pearly pale pink called Freshwater Pearl. The name is…very apt.

IMG_5136

This polish covered nicely in two coats. It looked like a frost when it first went on, but dried to more of a shimmer instead. You can still faintly see brush strokes, but only in the macro. The photo here has top coat (but mostly so I could get on with the nail art). I do have to say that I don’t like this color. it is 100% workplace appropriate and thus boring. I bought it for my mother.

IMG_5174

In the final art, the two middle fingers and thumb are covered with matte top coat, and the black on my pinky and pointer is a matte as well. I was trying for finish contrast! It’s rather hard to tell.

IMG_9365

My mom is always insisting that I paint her nails. Unlike my sister, however, who sends me designs she likes and wants reds and blues and purples, my mom wants “light pink. A very pretty subtle light pink” and I really don’t own those (I own one, and it takes 3 coats and dries slowly. That won’t do for my mom). So, when I saw this in the sale bin I thought “yes! For mom” so here we have a mom-directed soft pink shimmer.

Colors
~ Pink: ULTA – Freshwater Pearl
~ Black matte: Mentality – Rascal
~ Black creme: Sinful Colors – Black on Black

IMG_9360

The art is just some lace! And stones. Because nothing makes pink seem edgier than black and silver :-D. And no, you aren’t going nuts…my middle fingers and thumb are matted (at least the pink is) for contrast. Curlicues galore! Enjoy.

Comments on: "Pink Pearls and Black Lace" (6)

  1. I love these intricate designs that you create – they always look so great!

  2. Wow, that the first time I’ve ever liked a pale pink mani. The matt black really makes it look quite edgy. Very cool, well done.

  3. myishia simmons said:

    That pink really works well as a contrast to the black, very chic!

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - False Nail Sets

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

