Creative musings in bright colors

Purple Spotted Prints

ALL THE WATER TECHNIQUES! We have waterspotting (on all the nails…yes, it is under the marble) and watermarbling! ❤ water. Even if the mani came out not as I intended, I am still proud 😀

IMG_9390

I started with a base of Wild Violets by Revlon. This polish is from the ‘perfumed’ line, and was initially $8 (which is insane for a drug store polish). I got it on sale for $3 at ULTA. It is a pretty, if understated, dark purple with shimmer. And yes, it has a scent…I couldn’t say if it was of violets, but defiantly vaguely floral. Also not too strong, which I appreciate…I have some strongly scented polishes and they are terrible! Wild Violets took three coats to be opaque, but dried quickly. The brush is tiny, but the polish is easy to control.

IMG_5284

IMG_5289

Once Wild Violets was dry, I added top coat (never water-ANYTHING without top coat so you can clean off the watered-on polish if anything goes wrong! Trust me) and let that dry. I then went ahead and spotted on Malia by Zoya (yay hairspray and water!), and then marbled on some of my nails. The hope was to see the marbled line of Malia fade into the spotted purple, but it didn’t quite work out.

IMG_9380

I accidentally brushed the side of one of my nails into the plastic cup while I was pulling it out, so I ended up adding purple flowers in the corners of all my nails. Despite my mistake, I rather like how the flowers ended up bringing the mani together! Also, purple + green makes me happy.

IMG_5348

Colors
~ Dark purple: Revlon – Wild Violets
~ Medium purple: Zoya – Malia
~ Light purple: Sally Hansen – Lacey Lilac
~ Light green: Darling Diva – Green Diamond
~ Dark green: Zoya – Holly

IMG_5344

Hope you enjoyed! There are more water-based manis coming, but this was by far the most ambitious 😀

Comments on: "Purple Spotted Prints" (10)

  1. Says I, “One of the nicest n/a designs, ever!!!” I love the colors, the patterns and the concept; well done!

  2. I love purple and green. When I was a kid (back in the seventies) my favorite big sister painted most of her furniture purple with green teardrops etc. It was so cool. Hence I’ve loved this colour combination ever since.

  3. whoa these look so cool !

  4. Wow it looks awesome. I also like pairing purple and green for some reason.

  5. I can’t quite put my finger on what this reminds me of, but it is gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

a london year

[or more accurately: the london years]

Baroquen Nails

Original Nail Designs - 3d & Stamping Nail Art - Designer Press On Nails

Craftynail

Nail polish? Yes, please!

PSHIIIT

Un blog de nailista, adepte de nail art tendance, passionnée de photos, et de jolis bijoux. Les dernieres modes en matière de vernis à ongles sont scrutées et analysées, les teintes passées au crible, et en prime des tutos super faciles à réaliser vous sont proposés... Bref, la féminité s'invite jusqu'au bout des ongles sur le blog de Pshiiit !

Even Lemmings Paint Their Nails!

A growing obsession with nail polish!

Break rules, not nails

It's all about nail polish, colour and art.

Elektra Deluxe

Viennese nail polish chronicles

Cat's Claws

Sneak a peek behind the scenes of pretty nails. Toils of being stamped, pampered and painted with scrumptious colours. It's the hard-knock life.

